|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » Vista and Older Games:- Problems and How to Solve Them

Default Vista and Older Games:- Problems and How to Solve Them

August 28th, 2007, 21:03
Divine Divinity runs with no problems.
Icewind Dale 2 as well.
Loburian is offline

Loburian

Watcher

#41

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mississippi, USA
Posts: 28

Default 

August 28th, 2007, 21:15
Morrowind? Icewind Dale 2 ? (someone please try the first one too!) Divine Divinity? Vista is beginning to sound a bit better.
Zakhary is offline

Zakhary

Zakhary's Avatar
Noble Savage

#42

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Frozen North
Posts: 1,044

Default 

August 28th, 2007, 21:25
NWN seems to be running nicely.
woges is offline

woges

woges's Avatar
SasqWatch
RPGWatch Team

#43

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,110

Default 

August 28th, 2007, 21:28
I did turn off user access control (i think that's what its called), so i don't have to worry about running a game as an Admin, etc.
Loburian is offline

Loburian

Watcher

#44

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mississippi, USA
Posts: 28

Default 

August 29th, 2007, 09:35
Could you also please specify which edition of Vista you are working with here?
Home Premium 32bit? etc…
Zakhary is offline

Zakhary

Zakhary's Avatar
Noble Savage

#45

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Frozen North
Posts: 1,044

Default 

August 29th, 2007, 13:47
32-bit sorry…the worst i've had to do to some games (already listed) to run is on some change the compatablity.
Loburian is offline

Loburian

Watcher

#46

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mississippi, USA
Posts: 28

Default 

August 29th, 2007, 13:57
32bit basic OEM. I just made myself a fairly decent machine as cheaply as I could.
woges is offline

woges

woges's Avatar
SasqWatch
RPGWatch Team

#47

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,110

Default 

August 29th, 2007, 18:20
32-bit yes.. That's what I was guessing you were using..
Zakhary is offline

Zakhary

Zakhary's Avatar
Noble Savage

#48

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Frozen North
Posts: 1,044

Default 

August 30th, 2007, 00:00
I already mentioned that Morrowind ran fine on my rig, did I? Anyway, it's the Vista 32bit business edition, and I had no problems when running Morrowind and Thief: Deadly Shadows (both without any compatibility box checked) whatsoever. Morrowind CTDd out once in a while… just like it did under XP home back then. It's also choppy at times when maxed out, but I do credit this phenomenon to my video card because choppiness was just the same under XP.

Semper HiFi!
Motto of the 54th Groove Bde.
Jaz is offline

Jaz

Jaz's Avatar
SC-2201
Super Moderator
RPGWatch Team

#49

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,329

Default 

August 30th, 2007, 10:15
It's a very good thing that morrowind works. I loved Thief3 too.
Woges, Neverwinter Nights 1 is running and working fine on the 32 bit vista?
Try it with some expansions/mods/stuff?

Now we need someone to try out the Baldurs Gate games, Planescape torment,
and some of the Might & Magic 6-8. The Modern M&M's work without any problems whatsoever on my win2k rig and my XP-home laptop. Hopefully they work on vista too. Also, more comment about Fallout1/2 too please

It would be so great if the Age of Wonders and Space Rangers games would work too without any hassle.

And please always specify your vista version - especially if its the 32 or the 64bit one. Thanks in advance.
Last edited by Zakhary; August 30th, 2007 at 10:23.
Zakhary is offline

Zakhary

Zakhary's Avatar
Noble Savage

#50

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Frozen North
Posts: 1,044

Default 

August 30th, 2007, 13:54
Planescape: Torment works fine on my 32-bit system.
Loburian is offline

Loburian

Watcher

#51

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mississippi, USA
Posts: 28

Default 

August 30th, 2007, 14:02
There is a potentially interesting new patch for Vista from Microsoft:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/940105

It's addressing "Virtual address space usage in Windows game development" so it's gaming related and from the sounds of it, it might be what might really help get rid of those pesky Gothic 3 "out of memory" issues under Vista (and maybe some other games, too).
Moriendor is offline

Moriendor

Moriendor's Avatar
Spielkind

#52

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Schland
Posts: 1,891

Default 

September 3rd, 2007, 05:34
I've been playing through Fallout 2 for the past week or so on Vista, and have seen the rainbow graphics problem. What I did to fix it was always start the program with the autorun.exe from the CD. I haven't had the problem return since then.

Now, anyone know if Xcom will run? ( any version of Xcom… )
fildrigar is offline

fildrigar

Traveler

#53

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1

Default 

September 4th, 2007, 19:15
Would Dungeon Siege work on Vista ?
Pladio is offline

Pladio

Pladio's Avatar
Guardian of Nonsense
RPGWatch Donor

#54

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London, uk
Posts: 3,127
Send a message via MSN to Pladio

Default 

September 5th, 2007, 05:47
I can't see why not, but I haven't yet tried it!!

If God said it, then that settles it!!

Editor@RPGWatch
Corwin is offline

Corwin

Corwin's Avatar
On The Razorblade of Life
RPGWatch Team

#55

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,403
Send a message via Skype™ to Corwin

Default 

September 5th, 2007, 13:08
I just ordered DS to play the Ultima 5 remake. I'll install afew other things when I get time. I can't get Thief DS to work for the life of me off of steam.
woges is offline

woges

woges's Avatar
SasqWatch
RPGWatch Team

#56

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,110

Default 

September 6th, 2007, 00:28
Dungeon Siege is a no go on Vista.

Ahem, though a simple run in XP mode seems to sort it.
Last edited by woges; September 6th, 2007 at 00:42. Reason: Jumping ahead of myself.
woges is offline

woges

woges's Avatar
SasqWatch
RPGWatch Team

#57

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,110

Default 

September 6th, 2007, 01:04
Thief Deadly Shadows runs in XP mode aswell. For some reason I was having trouble before.
woges is offline

woges

woges's Avatar
SasqWatch
RPGWatch Team

#58

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,110

Default 

September 6th, 2007, 01:08
Seems that XP mode is the way to go then, so why change from XP to Vista in the first place!!

If God said it, then that settles it!!

Editor@RPGWatch
Corwin is offline

Corwin

Corwin's Avatar
On The Razorblade of Life
RPGWatch Team

#59

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,403
Send a message via Skype™ to Corwin

Default 

September 6th, 2007, 01:35
Well I have an XP machine aswell and it doesn't have the richness of DX10 on Bioshock.
woges is offline

woges

woges's Avatar
SasqWatch
RPGWatch Team

#60

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,110

Tags
elemental evil, temple
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » Vista and Older Games:- Problems and How to Solve Them
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:22.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch