|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » NWN 2 » NWN2 System Requirements?

Default NWN2 System Requirements?

November 3rd, 2006, 12:40
Hello,
I'm plannin' to purchase this game but I don't have any idea weather my PC will run it or not; Been searchin' for a site that contains any info with System Requirements but no luck..

Any ideas?

P.S: My PC profile is:
CPU: 2.8GHz on Intel Motherboard; 512 Cache and 533 (smth) >> I'm kinda newb on hardwares.
Graphics Card: GeForce4 FX5700XT with 256MBs of memory.
RAM: 512MBs DDR1 - Gettin' another 512 soon.

Peace.
Last edited by Haitham; November 3rd, 2006 at 14:36.
Haitham is offline

Haitham

Haitham's Avatar
Wanderer

#1

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gießen, Germany
Posts: 52
Send a message via MSN to Haitham Send a message via Skype™ to Haitham

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 13:18
This really belongs in 'General RPG' as it is *not* a MMO!

But, I would say that in general your system sounds fine, but definitely get more RAM.

You can find the systems req's here:

Recommended:
- 3+ GHz Intel Pentium 4 or equivalent processor
- 1+ GB System RAM
- NVIDIA GeForce 7800GT series or higher video card (or equivalent ATI card)

Minimum System Requirements:
- Windows XP
- 512MB System RAM
- 2.4 GHz Intel Pentium 4 or equivalent processor
- 128MB Direct3D compatible video card with DirectX 9.0c compatible driver (must support shader model 2.0)
- CD-ROM or DVD-ROM drive
- 4.6GB free hard disk space
- DirectX 9.0c (included)
- DirectX 8.1 compatible sound card
- Microsoft .NET 2.0 Framework for toolset (included)
- Broadband connection for multiplayer online play
- Keyboard, Mouse

Supported Video Cards:
- ATI Radeon X1900 series
- ATI Radeon X1800 series
- ATI Radeon X1600 series
- ATI Radeon X1300 series
- ATI Radeon X850 series
- ATI Radeon X800 series
- ATI Radeon X700 series
- ATI Radeon X600 series
- ATI Radeon X300 series
- ATI Radeon 9800 series
- ATI Radeon 9600 series
- ATI Radeon 9500 series
- NVIDIA GeForce 7900 series
- NVIDIA GeForce 7800 series
- NVIDIA GeForce 7600 series
- NVIDIA GeForce 7300 series
- NVIDIA GeForce 6800 series
- NVIDIA GeForce 6600 series
- NVIDIA GeForce 6500 series
- NVIDIA GeForce 6200 series
- NVIDIA GeForce 6100 series
- NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900 series
- NVIDIA GeForce FX 5700 series
- NVIDIA GeForce FX 5600 series
- NVIDIA GeForce FX 5500 series

— Mike
txa1265 is online now

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#2

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,544

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 14:19
Thank you.
Sorry for the thread-placing-mistake.
Haitham is offline

Haitham

Haitham's Avatar
Wanderer

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gießen, Germany
Posts: 52
Send a message via MSN to Haitham Send a message via Skype™ to Haitham

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 14:24
Originally Posted by Haitham View Post
Thank you.
Sorry for the thread-placing-mistake.
No prob - it has been placed in the "all new" NWN2 forums!

— Mike
txa1265 is online now

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#4

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,544

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 14:46
To give you an idea, it rarely runs smoothly with most settings high on my system.

Core 2 Duo 2.16 Ghz
2 GB ram
GeForce 7600 GT
Korplem is offline

Korplem

Korplem's Avatar
Shipwreck

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pearl Harbor, HI
Posts: 813

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 15:37
Originally Posted by Korplem View Post
it rarely runs smoothly
You mean it doesn't run smoothly for you? Because I have similar specs on my MacBook Pro (slightly better video) and get great performance.

— Mike
txa1265 is online now

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#6

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,544

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 18:40
If your system is a bit on the slow side, and/or you are playing on-line, turn *off* shadows and reflective water. This will give the game a huge speed boost.
Tauschitz is offline

Tauschitz

Tauschitz's Avatar
Watcher

#7

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 53

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 19:06
There asking for a high graphics card for reccomend aren't they? my 6800gt is a old but it normally hits reccomeded at least, guess I'll have to upgrade again soon…

Daniel.
darklord is offline

darklord

darklord's Avatar
Sentinel

#8

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: England
Posts: 519

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 19:58
Being afraid reading all the complaints of performance problems with the game i bought it today (want one more patch for Gothic 3 before finishing that game off). and was pleasently surprised. My AMD X2 4400 with a 7800GTX and 2 GB ram runs this game without problem. ALTOUGH(!!) i can understand some people having problem with FPS. I've got them around 20, with everything maxed out. I lowered the shadows to medium but everything fine.

But i am FPS impaired and don't really think its important so perhaps i can live with "poor" frame rates. (And you can tweak the graphic down if you must). And i also happily live with poor graphics since i think everything post 2000 is often good enough for me as long as the story is captivating.

Overall, really glad buying this game.
mute is offline

mute

Sentinel

#9

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 412

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 20:00
It better run it - that's a fairly high end machine mute!

"For Innos!"
ToddMcF2002 is offline

ToddMcF2002

ToddMcF2002's Avatar
SasqWatch

#10

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 2,232

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 20:23
Todd: Yes i know, but i read on the NWN forums that people having newer machine are having problems, and are unhappy with performance. I think i posted mostly to put my view on it cause of the core 2 duo in the post above (which i think in all testing galore spank my machine to kingdom come… as raw horse power…).

I dont know if people expect something else when they pay so much for a machine and the performance aint 40+ fps with full details on high.

The most important thing is that NWN2 has uphold my interest…
and i think its really playable. And that i understand that people have different views of playablity. And… and …
Last edited by mute; November 3rd, 2006 at 20:24. Reason: Clarifying (or mystifying my post?)!
mute is offline

mute

Sentinel

#11

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 412

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 20:25
Does anyone know if the game has a nVidia vs. ATi preference? I have one laptop with each, but am just playing the ATi right now.

— Mike
txa1265 is online now

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#12

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,544

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 20:29
The usually NVIDIA movie plays at the start… perhaps thats a preference?

And also, Feargus - Obsidian, wrote his spec on the NWN forum. He was really playing it on a low end machine. But he also wrote that he was biased towards the game. To bad i missplaced the posting. But if you look at page 19 on the official forum you might find it… it was on page 1 some hours ago… But with the speed that boards moves…
mute is offline

mute

Sentinel

#13

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 412

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 20:33
Originally Posted by mute View Post
The usually NVIDIA movie plays at the start… perhaps thats a preference?

And also, Feargus - Obsidian, wrote his spec on the NWN forum. He was really playing it on a low end machine. But he also wrote that he was biased towards the game. To bad i missplaced the posting. But if you look at page 19 on the official forum you might find it… it was on page 1 some hours ago… But with the speed that boards moves…
Hehe … so true, I refreshed the forum and completely lost the thread I wanted to open!

I know - generally the intro movie indicates better nVidia performance … but not always. Just wondering if anyone knew.

— Mike
txa1265 is online now

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#14

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,544

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 20:56
Any optimization tricks, anyone? I have a 3800+ X2 and 7800GT. Indoors performance is fine, but outdoors the frame rate drops noticeably; strangely I haven't found anything that makes a really big difference to it other than water reflections which I turned off. I suppose I could lower the rez, but I really don't want to.

(Shadows don't seem to matter much.)
Prime Junta is offline

Prime Junta

RPGCodex' Little BRO

#15

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,540

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 21:21
I assume you've scanned the pages of threads at the official tech support forum?

— Mike
txa1265 is online now

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#16

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,544

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 22:30
That was with everything at max, which I don't expect if they recommend a slightly better video card than mine. Indoor is great, very fluid. Outdoor gets very choppy on occasion but its still more than playable. As was stated before, I think the thing that matters is that this game is fun.
Korplem is offline

Korplem

Korplem's Avatar
Shipwreck

#17

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pearl Harbor, HI
Posts: 813

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 23:03
Prime Junta: According to the official site forum which I browsed at work today it is Shadows and Water effect that are the biggest cultprits.

Have you tried to turn off shadows completly?

I too have drops in frame when enter outdoor. Oh, and i play pretty much topdown view. I did noticed when i lowered the camera that the frame dropped conciderebaly, but as long as i had my BG feel view than it wasn't any problem…

And i also play it pretty much zoom out. Perhaps little things and playing style that is making a differens…

(Just thinking out loud…)
mute is offline

mute

Sentinel

#18

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 412

Default 

November 3rd, 2006, 23:20
That could be, I usually play with over the shoulder camera.
Korplem is offline

Korplem

Korplem's Avatar
Shipwreck

#19

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pearl Harbor, HI
Posts: 813

Default 

November 4th, 2006, 11:07
@txa — I had enough of scanning pages of threads with G3. I don't want to do it all over again with NWN2, if I can at all avoid it. So hate me. :-p

@mute — Yup, I tried turning off shadows; didn't make much difference at all. And no, it's certainly not unplayable; the frame rate just drops to the point where you notice it. I haven't even clocked it; by eye it's somewhere around 15-20 fps at worst, only it's rather noticeable when the terrain scrolls. Thanks anyway.
Prime Junta is offline

Prime Junta

RPGCodex' Little BRO

#20

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,540
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » NWN 2 » NWN2 System Requirements?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:10.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch