|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » New Wizardry 8 Mod

Default New Wizardry 8 Mod

January 20th, 2010, 04:54
I had a couple wins under my belt before Wizfast even came out, so it's definitely possible to survive without it, but I wouldn't want to.

As for X2, are you including the official modpack in that? I thought a couple features in the official modpack (which was actually a combination of several user-made mods) were definite improvements over vanilla (Universal autotraders, in particular).

Sorry. No pearls of wisdom in this oyster.
Dallas Cowboys: *sigh* / / Detroit Red Wings: Took injuries to see them, but how about them youngsters!
dteowner is offline

dteowner

dteowner's Avatar
Shoegazer

#101

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 11,314

Default 

January 20th, 2010, 05:23
No no no…. I meant "x2" as in - "I second what skavenhorde said".
JDR13 is online now

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#102

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,803

Default 

January 20th, 2010, 12:28
Originally Posted by JDR13 View Post
No no no…. I meant "x2" as in - "I second what skavenhorde said".
That was what I thought … then I was totally lost by the reply

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#103

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,410

Default 

January 20th, 2010, 13:53
Damn kids with their crazy lingo… I thought a "me too" post was supposed to be +1, but nooooo, now it's x2. Well la-dee-frickin-da!

Sorry. No pearls of wisdom in this oyster.
Dallas Cowboys: *sigh* / / Detroit Red Wings: Took injuries to see them, but how about them youngsters!
dteowner is offline

dteowner

dteowner's Avatar
Shoegazer

#104

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 11,314

Default 

January 20th, 2010, 14:19
Since I've never played X2 or X…I think it's 3 now, I knew what you meant JDR. It made perfect sense.

Though I still think you're crazy or have the patience of a saint. I will never replay Wiz8 without that utility. Movement is only cool in the first couple of days of playing, plus that freakin tree drove me nuts. I had to wait forever for everyone to finish moving. Let's not even talk about the castle. All those Rappax taking years to move around as well. It was as bad as Trinton if not worse.

Despite all my rage.
I'm still just a rat in a cage.
skavenhorde is offline

skavenhorde

skavenhorde's Avatar
Little BRO Rat
RPGWatch Team

#105

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 5,408

Default 

January 20th, 2010, 16:26
Have to agree. I don't usually bother to mod my games, but WizFast was definitely an improvement worth the installation. JDR, I applaud your patience. Did you like read a book or something during combat.

Where there's smoke, there's mirrors.
magerette is offline

magerette

magerette's Avatar
Hedgewitch
RPGWatch Team

#106

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7,929

Default 

January 20th, 2010, 22:16
I honestly don't remember it being *that* bad, but now I'll probably use Wizfast if I ever do replay it.
JDR13 is online now

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#107

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,803

Default 

January 24th, 2010, 04:15
A quick question, is there a mod which adjusts the game a bit for faster systems than it was designed for? I'm having difficulties with Wiz8's walking being a bit… jumpy. It's aggravating. Had to enable mouselook just to be able to turn without going in circles with just a tap.

No need for WizFast for combat. Wizslow maybe, as it's going fast enough that I can just keep up with it.

It was the night before Hogswatch…

I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity - Edgar Allan Poe
azraelck is offline

azraelck

azraelck's Avatar
Angel of Cookies!

#108

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the Middle of Nowhere
Posts: 1,823
Send a message via AIM to azraelck Send a message via Skype™ to azraelck

Default 

January 24th, 2010, 04:21
Huh, that sounds strange. Do you have VSync disabled? If so, maybe re-enable it and see if that helps?

I have a modest Core2Duo 6600 with a GeForce 8800GTS and it's all fine (Wizfast is at about 50% and combat is OK like that I guess.)

"Mystery is important. To know everything, to know the whole truth, is dull. There is no magic in that. Magic is not knowing, magic is wondering about what and how and where." ~ Cortez, from The Longest Journey
Arhu is offline

Arhu

Arhu's Avatar
Feline Wizard
RPGWatch Team

#109

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,337

Default 

January 24th, 2010, 04:31
I have no problems on a quadcore and 8800GTS with WinXP. That's a new issue to me, azraelck. I don't think I've read about that problem anywhere, either. Sorry.

Sorry. No pearls of wisdom in this oyster.
Dallas Cowboys: *sigh* / / Detroit Red Wings: Took injuries to see them, but how about them youngsters!
dteowner is offline

dteowner

dteowner's Avatar
Shoegazer

#110

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 11,314

Default 

January 24th, 2010, 06:49
Hmm. Might just be a conflict with my video chipset. Ain't the first time it's happened either. Usually, I just get an error on install, and nothing happens in game. Or, at worst, as in Dragon Age it's simply not powerful enough.

I'll try to disable V-Sync and see what happens. It's playable, if combat being a bit fast, but still annoying.

*edit*

Disabled V Sync, and a couple other options, and it is now playable (still fast on combat though). Thanks for the help.

It was the night before Hogswatch…

I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity - Edgar Allan Poe
Last edited by azraelck; January 24th, 2010 at 17:59.
azraelck is offline

azraelck

azraelck's Avatar
Angel of Cookies!

#111

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the Middle of Nowhere
Posts: 1,823
Send a message via AIM to azraelck Send a message via Skype™ to azraelck

Default 

January 24th, 2010, 13:36
I'd always keep VSync enabled. If you are using Windows 7, try compatibility mode. I'm running the game in compatibility mode for Windows 98 and used 3DSetup in the game directory to set everything to 1024x768x32, DirectX7 and DirectSound3D Software Emulation.

"Mystery is important. To know everything, to know the whole truth, is dull. There is no magic in that. Magic is not knowing, magic is wondering about what and how and where." ~ Cortez, from The Longest Journey
Arhu is offline

Arhu

Arhu's Avatar
Feline Wizard
RPGWatch Team

#112

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,337

Default 

January 24th, 2010, 17:59
Ew, no I'm running XP. And that resolution isn't supported on my laptop. Though I just realized that I made a typo in my last post… <.< >.>

It was the night before Hogswatch…

I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity - Edgar Allan Poe
azraelck is offline

azraelck

azraelck's Avatar
Angel of Cookies!

#113

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the Middle of Nowhere
Posts: 1,823
Send a message via AIM to azraelck Send a message via Skype™ to azraelck
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » New Wizardry 8 Mod
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:59.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch