|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » The Witcher Games » The Witcher » The Witcher: Black Screen

Default The Witcher: Black Screen

July 1st, 2008, 11:57
I hope someone can help me!

When I load the game, the intro-movie and the menu look fine. But when I choose a new game, something weird happens! For about 10 to 15 minutes the game 'loads' (Kaer Morhen is the name of the area). But when these minutes are over, the game starts, but I can only hear voices and other sounds and the screen is black!

The specs of my PC are what they should be to play this game and I've already applied the 1.3 patch. I also tried to load the game from witcher.exe instead of the autorun.

Please help me!

Boodschapper: "MacBeth, er naderen 300 vijandelijke ruiters!" MacBeth: "In de blote kont?" Booschapper: " - in de blote kont? Nee, hoezo? " MacBeth: "Ja ik vraag het maar…"
Flying_Doc is offline

Flying_Doc

Flying_Doc's Avatar
Traveler

#1

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3

Default 

July 1st, 2008, 13:11
Which graphics card ? Newest drivers ?

Sorry, but without this info it's rather like fishing in muddy water.

Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction. (E.F.Schumacher, Economist, Source)
Alrik Fassbauer is offline

Alrik Fassbauer

Alrik Fassbauer's Avatar
TL;DR

#2

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 16,008

Default 

July 1st, 2008, 22:01
If it's an ATI, and especially an older ATI, that's probably the cause. As Alrik says, getting the newest drivers is probably the only thing you can do about it.
VPeric is offline

VPeric

Sentinel

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Serbia
Posts: 582

Default 

July 2nd, 2008, 11:28
I have a ATI Radeon HD 2600 AGP 512MB
I'm going to download the latest drivers right now.

Boodschapper: "MacBeth, er naderen 300 vijandelijke ruiters!" MacBeth: "In de blote kont?" Booschapper: " - in de blote kont? Nee, hoezo? " MacBeth: "Ja ik vraag het maar…"
Flying_Doc is offline

Flying_Doc

Flying_Doc's Avatar
Traveler

#4

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3

Default 

July 2nd, 2008, 20:13
ATI + AGP + Original drivers = Problem

Use the Omega drivers

or the ATI/AGP Hotfix drivers

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong. - HL Mencken
HiddenX is offline

HiddenX

HiddenX's Avatar
The Elder Spy
RPGWatch Donor

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NRW/Germany
Posts: 4,460

Default 

July 3rd, 2008, 12:11
Both of them don't work… I really think I'm doing something wrong

Boodschapper: "MacBeth, er naderen 300 vijandelijke ruiters!" MacBeth: "In de blote kont?" Booschapper: " - in de blote kont? Nee, hoezo? " MacBeth: "Ja ik vraag het maar…"
Flying_Doc is offline

Flying_Doc

Flying_Doc's Avatar
Traveler

#6

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3

Default 

July 3rd, 2008, 21:38
I also think it's your graphic card FD. Witcher is a game which places high demands on your system and, especially, graphic card. I had exactly the same symptoms when I have tryed to run Witcher on Radeon X700 256 mb card and it still, occasionally, kept happening when I have upgraded to Radeon X1950 Sapphire 512 mb card.
zahratustra is online now

zahratustra

SasqWatch

#7

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,428

Default 

July 4th, 2008, 17:55
I could play The Witcher with an ATI AGP X850 256 MB.

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong. - HL Mencken
HiddenX is offline

HiddenX

HiddenX's Avatar
The Elder Spy
RPGWatch Donor

#8

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NRW/Germany
Posts: 4,460

Default 

July 5th, 2008, 17:20
I play the witcher with a radeon x1650 agp.

I got lot black screen in the begining, i fix it changing the agp from X8 to X4 and i never got any other error or reboot or black screen after that on any game.

Sorry my english

Saludos.-
________
BUY BUBBLERS
Last edited by Turok; February 16th, 2011 at 03:25.
Turok is offline

Turok

Watchdog

#9

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 149

Default 

July 7th, 2008, 17:27
FD, not to mention the obvious, but did you delete the old drivers before installing new ones? I have had times when new ones did not overwrite the old and deleting them solved it.

Bart and Corwin should just admit that when it gets down to it, I will have the final say.
Cm is offline

Cm

Cm's Avatar
Sentinel of Light

#10

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Missouri USA
Posts: 2,120
Send a message via Skype™ to Cm
RPGWatch Forums » Games » The Witcher Games » The Witcher » The Witcher: Black Screen
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:59.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch