|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Gothic 3 - Demo Coming Nov. 10th from Aspyr

Default Gothic 3 - Demo Coming Nov. 10th from Aspyr

November 8th, 2006, 20:33
We just got word from Aspyr that there will be a demo for Gothic 3 coming this Friday, November 10th. According to the release:
Aspyr Media and JoWood Productions will release the North American demo for the highly anticipated PC RPG Gothic 3 on Friday, November 10. The demo includes the beginning area of the game, including the towns of Ardea and Kap Dun and the Rebel outpost Reddock, with all available quests, weapons, spells and NPCs. There will be no time limits imposed on players.
You can get more information at Aspyr's Gothic 3 Site
More information.
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#1

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,326

Default 

November 8th, 2006, 20:33
That sounds like a great demo. Lots of content. Maybe 10 hours worth.
doctor_kaz is offline

doctor_kaz

Keeper of the Watch

#2

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 622

Default 

November 8th, 2006, 20:45
Sweet. I can see whether, with everything minimised, this can run on my machine. I can't face upgrading.
mogwins is offline

mogwins

mogwins's Avatar
Sentinel

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 286

Default 

November 8th, 2006, 21:07
I don't know if I'll bother since I'm buying it next week no matter what …

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#4

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,326

Default 

November 8th, 2006, 21:35
If the demo is more or less bugfree it could really help in raising the interest of the casual gamer. In Germany there was no demo available but it wasn´t needed anyway cause the game is so popular here, things sure look different in the states though.
Pfandpirat is offline

Pfandpirat

Pfandpirat's Avatar
Watcher

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 36

Default 

November 8th, 2006, 23:48
I'll try it just to see if I can run the game with only one gig of ram.
Cormac is offline

Cormac

Sentinel

#6

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 405

Default 

November 8th, 2006, 23:58
Originally Posted by Viking_Berserker View Post
Unless they magicly got rid of all the problems we are having (monsters going threw walls and caves, AI just sitting there doing nothing, falling down small little areas like rocks) Then its going to be bad. Better off not releasing a demo if ppl play it then see how buggy it is they wont buy it better off waiting until November 20th PB releases a patch and fixes more stuff then release a demo.
Not "we", you.


1 GB RAM is okay but it requires tweaking. You can find tips in our wiki.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#7

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,771

Default 

November 9th, 2006, 01:52
I got the same version as Gorath!!

If God said it, then that settles it!!

Editor@RPGWatch
Corwin is offline

Corwin

Corwin's Avatar
On The Razorblade of Life
RPGWatch Team

#8

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,321
Send a message via Skype™ to Corwin

Default 

November 9th, 2006, 04:52
Originally Posted by Gorath View Post
1 GB RAM is okay but it requires tweaking. You can find tips in our wiki.
That's encouraging. How "hands-on" does one need to get to get it running with a "paltry" one gig?
mogwins is offline

mogwins

mogwins's Avatar
Sentinel

#9

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 286

Default 

November 9th, 2006, 05:51
Originally Posted by mogwins View Post
That's encouraging. How "hands-on" does one need to get to get it running with a "paltry" one gig?
Itīs your decision if you want to do some tweaking or play what comes out of the box. 1 GB is entry level nowadays.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#10

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,771

Default 

November 9th, 2006, 07:42
Originally Posted by Cormac View Post
I'll try it just to see if I can run the game with only one gig of ram.
Lucky bastards … I haven't even got 1 gig, I've got 512

Goddamn … I'll need therapy in order to keep myself Gothic-free …

I dream of a day when chickens can cross roads without their motives questioned.
Khass is offline

Khass

Khass's Avatar
Watchdog

#11

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 135

Default 

November 9th, 2006, 13:09
Originally Posted by Corwin View Post
I got the same version as Gorath!!
Me too - once I'd sorted out the game startup problems (which weren't the games fault really) I've been 100% problem free

I wonder if they mean cape dun rather than kap dun though?
kalniel is offline

kalniel

SasqWatch

#12

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,877

Default 

November 9th, 2006, 13:26
Same with me, I never experienced critical gamcrashes with G3 so far.
Due to the fact that I have only 1 Gig of Ram I had to tweak my Ini though and I finally replaced my 5!! year old udma 66/5400 rpm/ 2mb cache hard drive with a new and shiny S-ATA one, that did the trick for me.

Kap is german for Cape, perhaps the names of the locations haven´t been translated in the demo?
Pfandpirat is offline

Pfandpirat

Pfandpirat's Avatar
Watcher

#13

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 36

Default 

November 9th, 2006, 14:57
if you would install the demo, would you also need all the patches? or won't they work?

This is my way of the Ninja: I never take back my word
titus is offline

titus

titus's Avatar
Substitute Shinigami

#14

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: belgium-genk
Posts: 1,052
Send a message via MSN to titus

Default 

November 9th, 2006, 15:18
Chances are that the demo includes whatever patches are currently available (i.e. 1.09). And also seems likely that applying patches wouldn't work …

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#15

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,326

Default 

November 10th, 2006, 16:56
A few notes:
- The demo is ~1.1GB
- You need Direct X 9.0c installed *before* the demo and can be gotten here.

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#16

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,326

Default 

November 10th, 2006, 19:10
Hmmmm… wasnt the Quake 2 demo 12MB? "Do you remember when…"

Hope this is on the torrent networks.

"For Innos!"
ToddMcF2002 is offline

ToddMcF2002

ToddMcF2002's Avatar
SasqWatch

#17

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 2,226

Default 

November 10th, 2006, 19:41
Hehe … yeah, but look lately, 1GB seems pretty middling in terms of size - Dark Messiah was >1.5GB, for example. Most demos are >500MB anyway, regardless of what they have.

I downloaded and played for a few minutes, just to get a quick look and feel. Runs nice on my system without mucking with anything. Look forward to the full game next Wednesday!

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#18

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,326

Default 

November 10th, 2006, 19:42
It's out, btw. Kicked off a dl from gamer's hell before leaving for work. Estimated at a little under 2 hours at ~140 KB/s…
chamr is offline

chamr

chamr's Avatar
Mounted Highborn

#19

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 850

Default 

November 10th, 2006, 20:24
Geesh who is manning the watch tower today? G3 Demo release, Two Worlds delayed, Gothic 4 announced….

Well not that last one but still.

"For Innos!"
ToddMcF2002 is offline

ToddMcF2002

ToddMcF2002's Avatar
SasqWatch

#20

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 2,226
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Gothic 3 - Demo Coming Nov. 10th from Aspyr
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:49.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch