|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » Gothic 1 wont start

Default Gothic 1 wont start

August 25th, 2008, 14:44
I start the game , nothing happens. Process is in taskbar.

E:
OS - Windows XP Service Pack 2
Hardware - 512mb ram(448mb), Ati radeon xpress 200 64mb (integrated, hypermemory up to 128mb), Soundmax soundcard, 80GB maxtor harddrive(SATA), Intel Celeron (D) 2.8ghz.
Gothic - English
Problem - No error, opened gothic.exe and nothing happens, but process listed in task manager.
Last edited by oke139; August 25th, 2008 at 16:01. Reason: more info
oke139 is offline

oke139

Traveler

#1

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2

Default 

August 25th, 2008, 15:35
You have to give us a lot more info than that:
- OS (operating system) and version
- Hardware (computer specs)
- English or German version of Gothic?
- What error occurs?
Etc etc
Maylander is offline

Maylander

SasqWatch

#2

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bergen
Posts: 5,359
Send a message via MSN to Maylander

Default 

August 25th, 2008, 16:42
Try patching the game first …
Pladio is offline

Pladio

Pladio's Avatar
Guardian of Nonsense
RPGWatch Donor

#3

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London, uk
Posts: 3,109
Send a message via MSN to Pladio

Default 

August 25th, 2008, 17:13
I tried, nothing, i v noticed if i start game early when computer starts i can play it , but with big lagg. (not caused by computer speed)
oke139 is offline

oke139

Traveler

#4

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2

Default 

August 25th, 2008, 19:07
There's a link here to a faq: I can't start Gothic

Is the machine a laptop? One of the things mentioned is that laptop graphics is not suported. That doesn't exclude all laptops, but in my experience laptops with shared graphics memory is not the best platform for running games.

I may of course be completely lost here (not the first time :-()

pibbur

Guest

#5

Posts: n/a

Default 

August 26th, 2008, 03:18
The fact that it runs if you start it early hints that something which is loaded later prevents it from starting.
Lag would be normal because your graphics card is very slow.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#6

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,807
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » Gothic 1 wont start
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:26.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch