|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » Gothic 1 - any fix for invisible inventory items yet?

Default Gothic 1 - any fix for invisible inventory items yet?

September 19th, 2008, 06:45
I recently installed the original Gothic, and ran into the common bug of having all inventory items look invisible. It's a bit disorienting to play this way, especially if you've never played the game before.

I found references to a fix being "in the works" on this forum, but that was a post from a year ago. Is there any know fix at this point?
Stabwound is offline

Stabwound

Traveler

#1

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 17

Default 

September 19th, 2008, 09:43
Not that I know of, and this issue has been annoying me for a long time. There might be a fix for it, but I haven't been able to dig it up. If you do find it, please post it!
Maylander is offline

Maylander

SasqWatch

#2

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bergen
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via MSN to Maylander

Default 

September 19th, 2008, 13:15
For me it always demanded a restart of Gothic (I saved the game in a new open slot and then loaded it again after exiting/restarting the game)

so very, very tired (Star Trek XI quote according to the Simpsons)
Bartacus is offline

Bartacus

Bartacus's Avatar
BartWatch

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belgium - Flanders - Antwerp
Posts: 1,538

Default 

September 19th, 2008, 16:02
I'm guessing you have an ATI video card right? I used to have the same problem, unfortunately there is no fix for newer ATI cards, they all have the bug with Gothic 1. It has something to do with the way they render the Z buffer or the W buffer, I forget exactly.

The inventory displays fine on all nVidia cards.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#4

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 16,927

Default 

September 19th, 2008, 19:23
I have been told it´s an ATI 1000 series bug. Cards since 2000 shouldn´t have it.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#5

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,699

Default 

September 19th, 2008, 20:42
Yup, Radeon x1650.

Well, that sucks. It's a fun game, but the bug is starting to get to me. I have an old Nvidia card, but that's way too much hassle to change the video card just to play a game, and besides, I like forcing maxed AA and FF which makes the game look a ton better. OH wellllll.
Stabwound is offline

Stabwound

Traveler

#6

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 17

Default 

September 19th, 2008, 21:52
Originally Posted by JDR13 View Post
The inventory displays fine on all nVidia cards.
Guess I'm just unlucky then - while it's not all outright invisible, it's mostly invisible with some weird display bugs (though items do tend to show, or at least "half show" when I select 'em). Meh, I live, though a fix would be nice. (It's on a GeForce 7600, if anyone is wondering)
VPeric is offline

VPeric

Sentinel

#7

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Serbia
Posts: 580

Default 

September 19th, 2008, 21:59
You don't really need the item displays, the game is good enough that you can play without it
Sparow is offline

Sparow

Watcher

#8

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 42

Default 

September 19th, 2008, 22:46
Yep, it's more annoying than anything else, because it still tells you what the item is if you highlight it with the cursor, and it still displays the number telling you how many of the item you have. It just doesn't show the item icon whatsoever.
Stabwound is offline

Stabwound

Traveler

#9

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 17

Default 

September 20th, 2008, 03:15
Originally Posted by Stabwound View Post
Yup, Radeon x1650.

Well, that sucks. It's a fun game, but the bug is starting to get to me. I have an old Nvidia card, but that's way too much hassle to change the video card just to play a game, .
Exactly how old is your nVidia card? It only takes about 15 minutes to change your vid card and install new drivers, well worth the effort for a game like Gothic.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#10

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 16,927

Default 

November 3rd, 2008, 13:40
Just FYI, but I've got the same bug on a nvidia Geforce 7900GT (which isn't new by any means, but not ancient either), so it's not only Radeon and ancient nvidia cards that suffer from this.

"It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue."
Lurking Grue is offline

Lurking Grue

Lurking Grue's Avatar
Random Encounter #23

#11

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: I come from the land of ice and snow
Posts: 552

Default 

November 3rd, 2008, 15:43
I believe I've seen it on nVidia cards as well, but can't recall on which exactly (I've had quite a few computers the past few years).
Maylander is offline

Maylander

SasqWatch

#12

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bergen
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via MSN to Maylander

Default 

November 3rd, 2008, 20:50
Originally Posted by Lurking Grue View Post
Just FYI, but I've got the same bug on a nvidia Geforce 7900GT (which isn't new by any means, but not ancient either), so it's not only Radeon and ancient nvidia cards that suffer from this.
It's probably driver related on the GeForce 7. I'm sure thousands of people at WoG played it flawlessly with such a card.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#13

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,699

Default 

November 4th, 2008, 03:03
i have a MSI 7600GT but i didn't notice this bug, i guess it must be a problem with the drivers. try fiddling with the profiles with a tool like nHancer or its equivalent.

• Intel C2D E4500 @2.20GHz • Kingston 2GB RAM (DDR2 667) • MSI NX 9800GT (512MB DDR3)
lanux128 is offline

lanux128

Sentinel

#14

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 461
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » Gothic 1 - any fix for invisible inventory items yet?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:16.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch