|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 3 Spoilers » monetary trading system

Default monetary trading system

November 17th, 2006, 01:07
most will notice a problem sometimes when they want to trade and the trader has enough gold listed but the gold balance button doesn't work. while you can double click on the gold in their inventory to see how much they actually have to trade i still wondered what the extra was for. i'm pretty sure now that amount of gold shown and the the actual amount they have only differs if you have trained with the npc/merchant or given them gold in some way other than the trade screen. this is why your are able to rob the npcs back of the stuff you've given them but not stuff you've traded. so if you're really in dire need of money you could always train with the same trainer and then get your money back later and use amnesia on them. though leaders are of limits because at no time can they be knocked unconsious-just killed.
curious is offline

curious

curious's Avatar
liberty or license

#1

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,386

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 01:11
Actually, what is shown is the VALUE of their TOTAL Inventory. This is made up of their Gold (the disk with a number on it, like 4k) and their other supplies. You can only sell up to the value of the actual gold amount they have!!

If God said it, then that settles it!!

Editor@RPGWatch
Corwin is offline

Corwin

Corwin's Avatar
On The Razorblade of Life
RPGWatch Team

#2

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,551
Send a message via Skype™ to Corwin

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 03:01
AFAIK there are basically two "inventories" for NPC merchants. One "trading inventory" and a "private" one. The "private" one basically contains quest items (that is, items they'll eventually hand over to you during the course of a quest or vice versa) including "quest money". Money you pay for training goes into the private one as well. When trading, the amount of money displayed is the total amount combined from both inventories. That's probably a bug. You will only have access to the gold present in the NPC's "trading inventory" when selling stuff.
aldee is offline

aldee

Watcher

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 31

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 03:13
thats what i said. but i guess you just made it clearer. thanks. and i don't think its a bug. if someone runs a store they are going to have a seperate business account seperate from their own personal account. and if the store is actually owned by someone else and/or they have to give a cut of their profit then they would want everything else to be on the side otherwise they would have to lose some of the money they make from you bribing them or recieving training (an intangible good not found in stores.)
curious is offline

curious

curious's Avatar
liberty or license

#4

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,386

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 12:41
I don't think it's a bug that you can't access their private stash during trading. I do think that it is a bug, that the "private" amount of coins is included in the trade window display.
aldee is offline

aldee

Watcher

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 31
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 3 Spoilers » monetary trading system
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:12.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch