|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Off-Topic » RAM and Motherboard compatibility

Default RAM and Motherboard compatibility

November 21st, 2006, 23:59
Several times I got unlucky and bought RAM that was not defective- but incompatible with my motherboard. I could never find anything about RAM compatibility on ASUS website, or in my manual. Now I got another ASUS, and another stick of RAM that causes blue screen crushes but testing “perfect” with memory tests.

Any advice- how can I tell, other than by trial and error?

Thanks in advance
Horst Wessel is offline

Horst Wessel

Horst Wessel's Avatar
Watcher

#1

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22

Default 

November 22nd, 2006, 00:20
How can you know it's the RAM causing trouble if it tests out perfectly in memtest86 and the like?

Also, which mobo and memory did you get?
KazikluBey is offline

KazikluBey

KazikluBey's Avatar
Sentinel

#2

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 525

Default 

November 22nd, 2006, 07:08
Nspire Memory 1GB DDR2 533 PC4200
Motherboard - Asus AV8 Deluxe

How do I know? Memory swapped for Kingston Memory 1GMB DDR 400MHz PC3200 works fine… I tested with memtest86 for 30 hours and got no errors. Then they tested it in the shop and told me it ran well. But as soon as Windows is installed (after 3-4 attemptes to install it)- it would crush to a blue screen every four hours or so. Especially if I run Photoshop or Vampire Bloodlines…
Also, it happened twice before- same crushes, same cures. Ah, I just wish I knew how to tell before buying it.
Horst Wessel is offline

Horst Wessel

Horst Wessel's Avatar
Watcher

#3

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22

Default 

November 22nd, 2006, 08:32
I was told I had a RAM problem too with blue screens popping up seemingly at random intervals, but the modules checked out fine. I then did some net searching and came up with a different cause of BSOD that seems to be more common nowadays with computers having more and diverse hardware: IRQ conflicts. I checked which hardware was adressing the same IRQ and I had some double (and even one triple) adressing. Fixed that and presto: no blue screens anymore. Maybe a solution? I hope it helps.
slam23 is offline

slam23

slam23's Avatar
Tormented Planescaper

#4

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 101

Default 

November 22nd, 2006, 10:09
At least Kingston has a mobo compatibility search on their website: [ http://www.kingston.com/ ]. (One reason I tend to prefer Kingston.)
Prime Junta is offline

Prime Junta

RPGCodex' Little BRO

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,540

Default 

November 22nd, 2006, 10:41
I also stick with Kingston. I use all laptops, but have never had problems with their stuff, and the last time I bought non-Kingston I had all sorts of issues. (yes, that was ~10 years ago, but still … )

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#6

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,267

Default 

November 22nd, 2006, 11:39
The most important thing when determining compatibility is making sure the motherboard can supply enough voltage for the ram. ASUS is notorious for supplying motherboards with insufficent vdimm allowances. DD2-800 (400mhz) memory for example requires roughly 2.1v for most brands, some can run at as low as 1.9v but that will normally be the best/most expensive stuff. A good DDD2 motherboard should be able to supply from 1.8v to 2.4v at least (changable in bios).

Favourite RPGs of all time: Wizardry 6, Ultima 7/7.2, Fallout2, Planescape Torment, Baldurs Gate 2+TOB, Jagged Alliance 2, Ravenloft: The stone prophet, Gothic 2, Realms of Arkania:Blade of destiny and Secret of the Silver Blades.
bjon045 is offline

bjon045

bjon045's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#7

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sigil
Posts: 907

Default 

November 22nd, 2006, 15:02
Originally Posted by Horst Wessel View Post
Nspire Memory 1GB DDR2 533 PC4200
Motherboard - Asus AV8 Deluxe
Err… That memory module isn't even listed on Nspire's website - according to it they've only made DDR1 modules, the best of them being 400MHz PC3200. And according to OCZ's website that motherboard is made for DDR1 modules, highest speed being 400MHz PC3200…

Originally Posted by Prime Junta View Post
At least Kingston has a mobo compatibility search on their website: [ http://www.kingston.com/ ]. (One reason I tend to prefer Kingston.)
Corsair and OCZ has the same thing.

I would only buy 'reputable brand' memory, such as Corsair, Kingston or OCZ.
KazikluBey is offline

KazikluBey

KazikluBey's Avatar
Sentinel

#8

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 525

Default 

November 22nd, 2006, 21:43
Thanks alot

I only wish ASUS would list all types of RAM that are compatible with the MB- I assume that as a rule one gets RAM for the motherboard, and not a motherboard that suits RAM
Horst Wessel is offline

Horst Wessel

Horst Wessel's Avatar
Watcher

#9

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22

Default 

November 22nd, 2006, 22:55
Yeah, find a motherboard that suits you, then find memory that suits the motherboard.

Asus does list what types of memory is supported though, ie: DDR1/2, ECC-compatible or not, un/buffered etc - but your motherboard appears to be too old for them to deem it necessary to list it on their website.
KazikluBey is offline

KazikluBey

KazikluBey's Avatar
Sentinel

#10

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 525
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Off-Topic » RAM and Motherboard compatibility
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:57.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch