|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Risen 2 » Risen » Improved graphics for Risen

Default Improved graphics for Risen

October 6th, 2009, 23:32


Thanks to this article, I was able to tune up the graphics quite radically.

+ General drawing distance +100%
+ Shadows are 2x sharper
+ Shadows draw distance increased significantly
+ Vegetation range is 2x
+ Object (including npcs/monsters) draw distance increased 10x

Download configUser.rar and extract it to c:/users/your_name/AppData/Local/Risen (in Win7/Vista) and you will have a much better graphics in the game.
Last edited by Ergonpandilus; October 6th, 2009 at 23:50.
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#1

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 7th, 2009, 00:11
Thanks for the tip, nice to find other ways to get the most out of my graphics card when playing without AA.
Toaster is offline

Toaster

Toaster's Avatar
Sentinel

#2

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 259

Default 

October 7th, 2009, 02:11
thanks for the heads up, will test it soon!

Edit: Okay, seems when I added that file you added I get a fatal memory allocation error.

I did remove the .biks from logo.ini and Risen does start faster by skipping those videos.

Before I had all my settings on high with 1900x1200 (16:10) resolution, it was a little sluggish up until now when I turned off Depth of Field. It runs MUCH smoother, really don't even need the configuser.ini I don't think. DOF is just the problem.
Last edited by Darundo; October 7th, 2009 at 02:42. Reason: Additional information
Darundo is offline

Darundo

Traveler

#3

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13

Default 

October 7th, 2009, 09:30
Where do we extract configUser.rar if we use XP?
Guybrush is offline

Guybrush

Watcher

#4

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 45

Default 

October 7th, 2009, 14:30
In WinXP it's C:\Documents and Settings\your_name\Local Settings\Application Data\Risen
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#5

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 7th, 2009, 18:26
Can anyone confirm if replacing this file on a Windows 7 box will break the game? Someone said he causes a memory error.
matziq is offline

matziq

Watcher

#6

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 49

Default 

October 7th, 2009, 18:52
I tested this again and it works 100% for me.

Just make a copy of your exisitng configuser.xml file before extracting and give it a shot. And tell us the result.
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#7

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 7th, 2009, 19:16
Originally Posted by Ergonpandilus View Post
I tested this again and it works 100% for me.

Just make a copy of your exisitng configuser.xml file before extracting and give it a shot. And tell us the result.
I'll test it at lunch.
matziq is offline

matziq

Watcher

#8

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 49

Default 

October 8th, 2009, 04:38
I tried it on XP, and I get a fatal memory allocation error. Some Compatibility issue maybe.
Guybrush is offline

Guybrush

Watcher

#9

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 45

Default 

October 8th, 2009, 05:07
I think the resolution is set in the config file. If the resolution in the config is higher than your graphics card can handle, it's going to fall down and go boom. It should be pretty easy to spot in there, just change it to what you want.
Zloth is offline

Zloth

Zloth's Avatar
I smell a… wumpus!?

#10

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,645

Default 

October 8th, 2009, 08:33
Oh, yes sorry about that. The resolution is 1680x1050 and if your computer doesn't support it, it most likely will crash.

Check through the xml before launching the game.

The even better way really is to copy-paste the stuff from my xml to yours.
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#11

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 8th, 2009, 14:43
Can you just post the tweaks so I can edit my own config file? The idea of using someone else's file is not good. Thanks.

edit: oh duh, I'll just look through your file. I swear that post above mine was invisible or something.
daemionsos is offline

daemionsos

Traveler

#12

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2

Default 

October 9th, 2009, 01:16
Fixed! My Resolution is:

Bottom="1080"
RefreshRate="60"
Right="1920"

This is running a geforce 8800GTX btw. However, I think that made graphics worse.
Guybrush is offline

Guybrush

Watcher

#13

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 45

Talking 

October 9th, 2009, 02:22
Are you saying that the textures and models in Risen are so bad, that it's better to have DoF, HDR and all kinds of effects maximum and visibility as low as possible. LOL

Can you make a screenshot comparison to prove your point?
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#14

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 9th, 2009, 05:00
Notice the skulls on the ground. On one of the images, its 3D while on the other its flat. The better image is the original, while the worse image is the one with the improved graphics.

Probably should have taken screens during the daylight.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (74.3 KB, 238 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (80.6 KB, 230 views)
Guybrush is offline

Guybrush

Watcher

#15

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 45

Default 

October 9th, 2009, 08:54
Could you take a new screenshots, those are just too dark.
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#16

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 9th, 2009, 14:11
Originally Posted by Ergonpandilus View Post
Are you saying that the textures and models in Risen are so bad, that it's better to have DoF, HDR and all kinds of effects maximum and visibility as low as possible. LOL

Can you make a screenshot comparison to prove your point?
It improves the view distance dramtically, it gets rid of the blurry fog, try it for yourself, it does make a difference.
mastorofpuppetz is offline

mastorofpuppetz

Watcher

#17

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 60

Default 

October 9th, 2009, 22:13
I've only tested this for about a minute, but so far it works really well. If you have the video card, try it. If you do just copy that config file over wholesale, you'll get all of his settings, but you can just change them back in game.
Alistair is offline

Alistair

Sentinel

#18

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 398

Default 

October 9th, 2009, 23:40
Nice to know it works fine. There might be some other changes that I missed, so check configdefault.xml from your Risen gamefolder.

But for now, it's time for a drink. Happy weekened.
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#19

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 10th, 2009, 00:44
Worked very well indeed. Transformed the game IMO. Tweaking G3 like this never quite worked - I always got strange gaps in the landscape (not to mention crashes) but here it really does push the sharpness out into the distance - very, very nice.
Alistair is offline

Alistair

Sentinel

#20

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 398

Tags
graphics
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Risen 2 » Risen » Improved graphics for Risen
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:45.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch