|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » The Witcher Games » The Witcher » Sound problem… Please Help

Question Sound problem… Please Help

October 4th, 2009, 03:07
I installed The Witcher for the first time the other day and I'm really enjoying it. I'm playing the enhanced edition, patch 1.5, director's cut. All the sound is great except when I enter or leave *any* building I get a loud noise. Something like a very loud hiss that lasts for just a second. I have a new machine with *very good* specs except the sound is just an on-board variety (built in). Could this be the problem? Do I need to install an actual soundcard to get around this? Has anyone else run into this? Thanks very much…
Warmskin is offline

Warmskin

Watcher

#1

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 39

Default 

October 4th, 2009, 05:26
Which on-board sound chip is it? You might just need to change\update the sound driver.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#2

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,710

Default 

October 4th, 2009, 06:31
Well, the system tray at the bottom right of Windows actually has 3 different icons pertaining to sound. One says 'SB X-Fi MB' and the other says 'Realtek HD Audio Manager'. The third icon is a volume control which says 'Realtek High Definition Audio' after stating the actual volume and the word 'Speakers'. The reason I'm giving you all this info is because it's the first machine I've ever bought without an actual 'soundcard'. Fastest machine by far, but the worst sound (I guess). Although, it really sounds fine to me. I just finished BioShock and I thought the sound was great (catching up on some old games now that I finally have a powerful machine). Thanks again for the help.
Warmskin is offline

Warmskin

Watcher

#3

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 39

Default 

October 4th, 2009, 17:05
Wait, it has a soundcard *and* an on-board sound chip?? That's what it seems anyways.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#4

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,710

Default 

October 4th, 2009, 17:28
Originally Posted by JDR13 View Post
Wait, it has a soundcard *and* an on-board sound chip?? That's what it seems anyways.
I just purchased a new system as well and have been playing through Risen and replaying the Witcher and I have noticed this sound on menu screens and such and have search on the net and from what I can tell, it's a high pitch given off from your video card when it's computing a game in the 100+ frames per second. While in game, it can't do 100+, so there's no sound, it's called something like a digital *khsdjhf,* sorry, forgot the word. One way to get around it is to put Vsync on, either in the game or force it through your video card. I also had this problem on the Tropico 3 demo. It has since fixed the problem for me. From what I've read, nothing bad is happening to your system, just when it's running that fast, it makes this digital sound. Try the Vsync and let me know if that helps.
SadExchange is offline

SadExchange

Watcher

#5

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 77

Default 

October 4th, 2009, 17:33
To: JDR13
No, I think it would have listed in the specs if there was a soundcard. Maybe there is just a bunch of 'crapware' that came with the computer. I don't know. If I go to 'personalization' (right click on the desktop) and then click on 'sounds' and open the tab that says 'playback' it lists 2 icons. One says 'Speakers, Realtek High Definition Audio, Working' (with a green checkmark next to 'working'). The other icon says' Realtek HDMI Output *with no* checkmark next to 'working'. (I am not using any HDMI cables)
Back up to the 'Recording' tab, the only thing with a green checkmark is 'Stereo Mix, Realtek HD Audio with the checkmark next to 'working'. I see no mention anywhere in these boxes of anything other than Realtek. How can I tell exactly what I have? Thanks again. Excuse my lack of knowledge here, but I have spent the last 5 years or so with 'XP', I frankly find 'Vista' very confusing.
On another subject. I am experiencing red 'specks' floating on the screen *sometimes* at night. At first I thought it might be some kind of effect, but when I went into a dark cellar and saw them again it seems like something's wrong. I have a nVidia GTX 285 with a i7 950 processor. Thanks very much.
Warmskin is offline

Warmskin

Watcher

#6

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 39

Default 

October 4th, 2009, 17:52
Those red specks appear when Geralt is intoxicated by drinking too many potions. It starts getting really noticeable when the green bar below the health bar reaches 50% or so. It's a warning sign that Geralt should keep it down a little or rest before drinking any more.

As for SadExchange's tip about turning on VSync, I think that's a very good idea in general, particularly if you've got an LCD monitor that can only do 60Hz anyway. I found it stabilizes everything a bit in various games and have since forced it on in my NVidia Control Panel. Even if your in-game FPS is < 60, in menus or while loading it might jump *very* high if VSync is turned off.

"Mystery is important. To know everything, to know the whole truth, is dull. There is no magic in that. Magic is not knowing, magic is wondering about what and how and where." ~ Cortez, from The Longest Journey
Arhu is offline

Arhu

Arhu's Avatar
Feline Wizard
RPGWatch Team

#7

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,330

Default 

October 5th, 2009, 00:24
I forced VSync on globally, but no change. Still getting the loud, well, it sounds something like an explosion that only lasts a split second whenever I enter or exit a building of any kind. Nowhere else in the game…
Thanks.
Warmskin is offline

Warmskin

Watcher

#8

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 39

Default 

October 6th, 2009, 01:35
Isn't that normal? It does that on my computer too.
DPB is offline

DPB

DPB's Avatar
Watchdog

#9

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: England
Posts: 198

Default 

October 6th, 2009, 05:00
Well, I sure hope it's *not* normal. Doesn't seem right to me… How do I tell which driver to d/l for my 'Realtek' sound chip? Anyone? Thanks.
Warmskin is offline

Warmskin

Watcher

#10

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 39

Default 

October 6th, 2009, 05:52
Originally Posted by Warmskin View Post
Well, I sure hope it's *not* normal. Doesn't seem right to me… How do I tell which driver to d/l for my 'Realtek' sound chip? Anyone? Thanks.
What I don't understand is why your system tray lists a 'SB X-Fi MB' and a Realtek device, the X-Fi chip is made by Creative Labs, and Realtek is a different company. I've never heard of both being on the same motherboard.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#11

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,710

Default 

October 6th, 2009, 05:55
Well, disregard that last request. I just checked Windows and the 'Device Manager' and under 'Sound' it had me check for the latest drivers. It told me I'm already up to date. So, what goes on here? *How do I fix this problem.* It's not just in and out of buildings, it's also caves, too. Thanks.
Warmskin is offline

Warmskin

Watcher

#12

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 39

Default 

October 6th, 2009, 06:00
Originally Posted by JDR13 View Post
What I don't understand is why your system tray lists a 'SB X-Fi MB' and a Realtek device, the X-Fi chip is made by Creative Labs, and Realtek is a different company. I've never heard of both being on the same motherboard.
I know, it doesn't seem to make sense. I do know that I *don't* have an actual physical soundcard installed, though.
Warmskin is offline

Warmskin

Watcher

#13

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 39

Default 

October 6th, 2009, 21:50
Realtix sound drivers will not show on a regular windows update. Visit realtix site and let it run the drivers check for you. As to the other, if you just got the system you should be able to get some tech support from the manufacturer or seller I would think.
Geralt does show various altered visions depended on if drunk, or poisoned. One too many potions and he will be poisoned to the point of seeing the specks vade in and out on the screen.

Bart and Corwin should just admit that when it gets down to it, I will have the final say.
Cm is offline

Cm

Cm's Avatar
Sentinel of Light

#14

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Missouri USA
Posts: 2,098
Send a message via Skype™ to Cm

Default 

October 8th, 2009, 06:43
Just wanted to post this update to my problem with this and for anyone else who might be experiencing these kind of sound 'glitches'. I d/l'd a mod called 'Silence is Golden' and it fixed the problem completely. At least for as much as I've tested so far. In and out of about a half dozen buildings and the 'cave' a couple of times. No sound 'scratch/explosion/white noise' or whatever you want to call it. Fingers crossed, but it seems to have worked. Silence *IS* golden…
Warmskin is offline

Warmskin

Watcher

#15

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 39

Default 

October 10th, 2009, 17:31
Post a link if you can?

Bart and Corwin should just admit that when it gets down to it, I will have the final say.
Cm is offline

Cm

Cm's Avatar
Sentinel of Light

#16

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Missouri USA
Posts: 2,098
Send a message via Skype™ to Cm
Warmskin is offline

Warmskin

Watcher

#17

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 39

Default 

October 12th, 2009, 15:14
Thanks, that will help the next person having issues who stolls here for help.

Bart and Corwin should just admit that when it gets down to it, I will have the final say.
Cm is offline

Cm

Cm's Avatar
Sentinel of Light

#18

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Missouri USA
Posts: 2,098
Send a message via Skype™ to Cm
RPGWatch Forums » Games » The Witcher Games » The Witcher » Sound problem… Please Help
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:59.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch