|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Dragon Age » Dragon Age: Origins » Core 2 Requirement

Default Core 2 Requirement

November 9th, 2009, 02:47
How serious should one take the Core 2 @ 1.4Ghz processor minimum requirement? I'm running a Pentium 4 @ 3.8 Ghz. That's a pretty fast processor, but is the Core 2 required because the game uses multithreading?

If so, I'm out of luck. I can't justify building a new machine for just one game right now.
Necrosis is offline

Necrosis

Watcher

#1

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 69

Default 

November 9th, 2009, 06:57
Well it only requires a single-core Core 2, not a Core 2 duo. IIRC, those chips did have hyperthreading, though, so you may be out of luck.
Badesumofu is offline

Badesumofu

Badesumofu's Avatar
SasqWatch

#2

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 453

Default 

November 9th, 2009, 09:02
I'm running it on my old rig:
AMD Anthlon 3500+
3gb ram
Radeon x1950 pro

its running fine at 1280x1024, 2x AA and medium detail settings. Gets a bit slow during big battles though. I'm surprised at how well it runs. It's not the best looking game but that doesn't really matter to me.
Lemonhead is online now

Lemonhead

Lemonhead's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#3

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 663

Default 

November 9th, 2009, 09:26
Originally Posted by Badesumofu View Post
Well it only requires a single-core Core 2,

There's no such thing.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#4

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,816

Default 

November 9th, 2009, 10:46
Originally Posted by Lemonhead View Post
I'm running it on my old rig:
AMD Anthlon 3500+
3gb ram
Radeon x1950 pro
ZOMG, this game could've run on my current PC until the upgrade. Instead I'm "stuck" with the 360 version.

AMD Athlon 3500+
2GB RAM
Radeon HD 4650
Thaurin is offline

Thaurin

SasqWatch

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,404

Default 

November 9th, 2009, 11:01
When I checked task manger, it was reporting that DA has 32 threads. I have never seen this many threads for games. The max I have seen are about 10 or so.

So in theory more cores you have the better the game should run.
lostforever is offline

lostforever

Keeper of the Watch

#6

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,083

Default 

November 10th, 2009, 01:30
Thanks for all the input. I guess I'll just have to try it and see.
Necrosis is offline

Necrosis

Watcher

#7

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 69
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Dragon Age » Dragon Age: Origins » Core 2 Requirement
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:25.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch