|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Dragon Age » Dragon Age: Origins » Downloaded content doesnt download?

Default Downloaded content doesnt download?

November 15th, 2009, 04:10
I have everything registered into the bioware social link including the game and it shows there but when I start the game I dont get any content.

I used these instructions:
http://na.llnet.bioware.cdn.ea.com/u…_PC_redeem.pdf

This is the part where the instructions stopped working:

After successfully redeeming the code, return to
the Downloadable Content menu in the game.
The DLC item will automatically begin to
download. Once it has completed downloading
and installing the content, the DLC item will
move to the Installed Content tab. Click the
‘Installed Content’ tab to review all DLC you
currently have installed on this machine.
Ensure the content you just downloaded is set
to Enabled.
I have tried everything from starting the game over to switching routers and internet connections yet it doesnt download anything.

I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel. - Maya Angelou
"Those who dont read history are destined to repeat it." Edmund Burke
zakhal is offline

zakhal

zakhal's Avatar
HomelyRebel

#1

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europa Universalis
Posts: 2,968

Default 

November 15th, 2009, 04:26
It is a common problem. You can find several solutions in the thread "DLC not showing up? Possible Fix" in the Dragon Age formum here.

This is what I did:
1. Ensure that the Dragon Age Content updater service is running.
2. Run Dragon Age as administrator.
Last edited by pibbur; November 15th, 2009 at 04:38.

pibbur

Guest

#2

Posts: n/a

Default 

November 15th, 2009, 04:36
Ok thx I found solution from here: http://social.bioware.com/forum/1/topic/58/index/81613

As you said restarting the upload service manual did it. Should have guessed its the administrator thingie.

I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel. - Maya Angelou
"Those who dont read history are destined to repeat it." Edmund Burke
zakhal is offline

zakhal

zakhal's Avatar
HomelyRebel

#3

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europa Universalis
Posts: 2,968

Default 

November 15th, 2009, 04:53
Related question: How do you start the Stone Prisoner quest?
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#4

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,454

Default 

November 15th, 2009, 04:59
I met with a trader along the way who told me about him. He them marked the location on my map.

If God said it, then that settles it!!

Editor@RPGWatch
Corwin is offline

Corwin

Corwin's Avatar
On The Razorblade of Life
RPGWatch Team

#5

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,328
Send a message via Skype™ to Corwin

Default 

November 15th, 2009, 05:35
Do you remember where? How far into the game were you?
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#6

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,454

Default 

November 15th, 2009, 06:33
I think it was just after Loth (I always want to call it Lolth!) that the location opens up. It's way off on the west side of the map. When you go there, there's just the guy with the rod that starts you on your quest.

The merchant at my camp might have mentioned him in his rumors, too, though I'm not sure about that.

P.S. You shouldn't need to play Dragon Age as an admin. You might need to be an admin to get the service started, though. Since I plan to play this game for quite awhile, I just started the services window as admin then set the service to autostart.
Zloth is offline

Zloth

Zloth's Avatar
I smell a… wumpus!?

#7

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,647

Default 

November 15th, 2009, 08:01
Originally Posted by Zloth View Post
I think it was just after Loth (I always want to call it Lolth!) that the location opens up. It's way off on the west side of the map. When you go there, there's just the guy with the rod that starts you on your quest.

The merchant at my camp might have mentioned him in his rumors, too, though I'm not sure about that.

Mmmm I'm starting to get a bit worried, I'm 30 hours into DA, and I haven't seen any indication of that quest. I hope my game isn't bugged.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#8

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,454

Default 

November 15th, 2009, 09:24
I didn't talk to anyone. The quest was just listed under "Premium Content" in the journal.

-= RPGWatch =-
Dhruin is offline

Dhruin

Dhruin's Avatar
Watcher
Super Moderator
RPGWatch Team

#9

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11,964

Default 

November 15th, 2009, 10:10
Is it the one titled 'Sulcher's Pass'?
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#10

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,454

Default 

November 15th, 2009, 10:51
Yes. The quest-giver is in Sulcher's Pass.

Interdum feror cupidine partium magnarum Europae vincendarum
Sometimes I get this urge to conquer large parts of Europe
KazikluBey is offline

KazikluBey

KazikluBey's Avatar
Sentinel

#11

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 525

Default 

November 16th, 2009, 10:16
I had a problem with the Stone Prisoner quest. It never triggered. I've seen several people with the same problem. I had to re-install the game and the DLC to finally get it working.

It's well worth it though, Shale is amazing.
Maylander is offline

Maylander

SasqWatch

#12

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bergen
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via MSN to Maylander

Default 

November 27th, 2009, 22:04
I am still not sure about this DLC thing. I downloaded Shale with the free code included, but the homepage says it can be used only once.
Does this mean if I have to reinstall the game for any reason (Win meltdown, new machine etc.) I cannot download him again?
Thinking about purchasing Warden's Keep, but I would like to know this first.
szokol is offline

szokol

Watchdog

#13

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 171

Default 

November 27th, 2009, 22:30
The DLC is tied your bioware social/ea account, so you can be on a different cpu or buy a new one and as long as you log into the same account, your DLC will remain.

To the OP: for any future problems you could always manually install install it, I forgot the exact thread on the dragon age forums, but it lists all the DLC and where you can download them.
Rake is offline

Rake

Rake's Avatar
Traveler

#14

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 11

Default 

November 29th, 2009, 11:38
I'm enjoying DA, but the DLC is another matter….

Wardens keep worked, but felt really cheated about it.

Shale, well. I cant play it in my main campaign (not in journal or map, but I have got the rod) and I'm damned if I would throw away 40+ Hours.

In a test run just finishing the mage origin its marked in my journal, premium content.
Probably some quest broke it all and if you read the social forums I'm not the only one.

/C

edit.
manual reinstall did it
Last edited by Crilloan; November 29th, 2009 at 19:11.
Crilloan is offline

Crilloan

Sentinel

#15

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: WGS84 Latitud:59.85 Longitud:17.65
Posts: 350
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Dragon Age » Dragon Age: Origins » Downloaded content doesnt download?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:42.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch