Crypts of Avaritia - roguelike dungeon crawler

r3jonwah85

Watcher
Helly everybody, long time lurker first time poster since I have finally something to say! :biggrin:

I have been working on my own RPG for a couple of months now and would like to share my progress with you here at rpgwatch. I am also hoping for feedback and discussion om game mechanics since I am a one man wolf pack doing this. when I started this I had done practically zero programming and had never touched Unity nor Blender (or any other 3D modeling tool for that matter), so the progress has been slow but I finally feel like there will actually be a nice end product.

Lets start off with the usual sell talk:
Crypts of Avaritia is a combination of randomly generated dungeons together with a first person view with gameplay similar to Heretic/Hexen combined with Dungeon Hack, Ultima Underworld, Dungeon Master, Might & Magic, Daggerfall, Arena and other games in the same genre. The gameplay will not force the player into melee combat as many other RPGs do, instead choice will be given to approach any problem the way the player seem fit, just like in Deus Ex. As such there are many non-combat attributes and skills for the player to upgrade. There are strong survival-mechanisms coupled to the gameplay, such as the player need to sleep, eat and drink water. You can also break bones, bleed and get poisoned.

A little video:

In the video you see:
- Improved graphics settings, a lot of Unity games just use the default quality settings but I think it is important to add as much as possible, so I have added most of what Unity offer.
- FOV settings works for those who like to tinker with that, I just think it looks weird