Cyberpunk 2077 - System Specs - RPGWatch Forums
|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Cyberpunk 2077 - System Specs

Default Cyberpunk 2077 - System Specs

September 19th, 2020, 01:56
PC Gamer reports on the system specs for Cyberpunk 2077.

Minimum:

  • OS: Windows 7 or 10, 64-bit
  • Processor: Intel Core i5-3570K or AMD FX-8310
  • Memory: 8GB RAM
  • Graphics: Nvidia GeForce GTX 780 3GB or AMD Radeon RX 470
  • DirectX: Version 12
  • Storage: 70 GB HDD, SSD recommended
Recommended:

  • OS: Windows 10, 64-bit
  • Processor: Intel Core i7-4790 or AMD Ryzen 3 3200G
  • Memory: 12GB RAM
  • Graphics: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB or AMD Radeon R9 Fury
  • DirectX: Version 12
  • Storage: 70 GB SSD
More information.
Silver is offline

Silver

Silver's Avatar
Spaceman
RPGWatch Team

#1

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 8,016
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 03:07
This is probably for 1080p resolution.
What about 4k resolution?
Or what most modern monitors have today 1440p ?
Ryzwitcher is offline

Ryzwitcher

Ryzwitcher's Avatar
Vještac

#2

Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 03:23
Recommended specs generally were always stating what you need to get 60FPS with high settings (not ultra!) on 1080p.
There were some exceptions sometimes (read: Ubisoft's ignorant shills for 30FPS).

However, in another thread I questioned 12Gb of RAM. I cannot imagine such necessity for 1080p thus I suspect recommended here is actually ment for 4K!
Yes, 4K, high, on GTX 1060, 60FPS… Does sound blasphemous. But CDprojekt are proven masters of optimization, so there.
--
Toka Koka
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#3

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 22,671
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 06:47
The specs are for 1080p with low settings, and 1080p with high. They will release more info about higher resolutions and raytracing later.

Someone speculated it was done this way to not blow the cover for amds new cards, which aren't out yet.

I've got a 6700k and a vega 64, so I hope I can play it with at least some eye candy at 1440p.
SveNitoR is offline

SveNitoR

Keeper of the Watch

#4

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 10:23
Indeed these settings are for 1080p for low/mostly high settings (nothing ultra, I'd imagine). Which might be acceptable if you don't have anything more powerful. The good thing is that they keep the range of systems that can run it as large as possible. I'm curios how it's gonna run on PS4/XboxOne. Witcher 3 struggled quite a bit, I heard.
danutz_plusplus is offline

danutz_plusplus

danutz_plusplus's Avatar
SasqWatch

#5

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 10:42
Hopefully I'll have a RTX3080 for this, if nVidia stops messing around and actually puts them up for sale, so I can get the most of the 4k. Still on the fence on whether I'll love this game a lot, but at least it'll look gorgeous.
Nereida is offline

Nereida

Nereida's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#6

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 10:50
Originally Posted by joxer View Post
However, in another thread I questioned 12Gb of RAM. I cannot imagine such necessity for 1080p thus I suspect recommended here is actually ment for 4K!
Yes, 4K, high, on GTX 1060, 60FPS… Does sound blasphemous. But CDprojekt are proven masters of optimization, so there.
Horizon Zero Dawn uses 16.7Gb of ram and 7.1Gb of Vram on my system on 1080p so it is possible.
Strafe is offline

Strafe

Strafe's Avatar
Sentinel
Original Sin 2 Donor

#7

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 11:09
Screen resolution doesn't have much bearing on system RAM - it's VRAM that's needed for higher res. RAM usage can be affected by caching higher resolution textures, but that's a different issue. If the game needs 12gb, that's just a reflection of its complexity.

It can be a bit misleading to draw conclusions about how much RAM a program needs from how much RAM it appears to be using in a system monitor. A program will generally use as much RAM as it can, but it's often just holding on to a lot of data to improve performance, which would be released immediately if another process needed it. It's quite possible for a program to appear to be using up nearly all available RAM, but there's no problem.
--
"An era can be considered over when its basic illusions have been exhausted." Arthur Miller
Ripper is offline

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela

#8

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9,317
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 11:28
While my good old 980 TI might be good enough to play on 1080p with not high details, I'm really going to wait for my new rig (boosting a 3080 or even 3090) to play it in 1440p or even 4K with ultra details… Currently I'm waiting for the reviews of the 3090 to see if those are worth it (well, they are surely not, but perhaps they are worth it to overlook that they aren't worth it ;-) ).
Irian is offline

Irian

Atheistic Pirate

#9

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 13:05
Been seeing a lot of posts claiming CDPR downgraded the game like Witcher III. That I have to say Steam stats show not many gamers use Nvidia's $1,000+ graphic cards.

So can''t blame them as CDPR wants to sell as many games as possible.

Edit: Top tier nvidia card users are maybe 2% of the Steam players.

Link - https://store.steampowered.com/hwsurvey/videocard/
--
“We do not stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing!”
Couchpotato is offline

Couchpotato

Couchpotato's Avatar
Laziest Man Alive

#10

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Great ol'Murica
Posts: 23,801
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 14:10
I believe this is why we have in game video/graphic settings so that a game can be played on a as vast variety of systems as possible…
Strafe is offline

Strafe

Strafe's Avatar
Sentinel
Original Sin 2 Donor

#11

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 14:13
I was hoping to have my GTX 3080 before this gets released, but I'm not sure now with Nvidia's current supply issue. I think my current system can probably run it just fine though on high settings without ray tracing.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch
Original Sin Donor

#12

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 27,711
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 14:20
I am actually surprised at how close my MS Surface Pro 7 comes to being able to run it … not that I had planned on trying, but still.

Fortunately my 2019 gaming laptop will handle it quite well, likely on some hybrid medium settings.
--
-- Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch
Moderator

#13

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 14,560
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 15:21
Originally Posted by Strafe View Post
I believe this is why we have in game video/graphic settings so that a game can be played on a as vast variety of systems as possible…
Try telling that to graphic whores.
One who, in video games, values graphics above all and ignores all other aspects of the game. People who like graphics over gameplay and will spend way to much on there pc to play because 1440p is not good enough for them.
If a game can't be played on Ultra you're playing it wrong.

For reference look at Crysis it needed hardware not available at it's release. You wont see many developers limit their fan-base because of the graphic requirements.
--
“We do not stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing!”
Couchpotato is offline

Couchpotato

Couchpotato's Avatar
Laziest Man Alive

#14

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Great ol'Murica
Posts: 23,801
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 15:27
Pretty much all AAA games are targeted at the level of the consoles. The irony is that if you were making a game purely for PC, you could make a much more technically advanced game, but the higher the system requirements, the smaller your market. So we mainly get two technical brackets - console level, and low-fi indie. A lot of the "ultra" options on PC are just letting you ratchet up certain settings, often to diminishing returns.
--
"An era can be considered over when its basic illusions have been exhausted." Arthur Miller
Ripper is offline

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela

#15

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9,317
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 15:41
That's generally true, but not in all cases. Depends on the publisher.

Examples where PC audience suffers inferior console hardware are almost all Ubisoft games. I'm not talking about their constant "30FPS is cinematic!" bs, many forgot what they did with the first watch dogs game - locked eyepleasing visuals on PC only because consoles couldn't do those thus it took modders to "fix" it.

But we do have opposite examples where PC version does not care about features that are impossible on consoles. Square Enix' FF15 is an example of it. Sure it does look pretty on different Nintendo Gameboys, but on PC? It looks spectacular.
--
Toka Koka
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#16

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 22,671
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 15:44
I usually find the visuals to be the least of my problems when it comes to Ubisoft games. There are far more glaring issues with their titles imo.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch
Original Sin Donor

#17

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 27,711
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)

Default 

September 19th, 2020, 17:52
OS: Windows 7 or 10, 64-bit
DirectX: Version 12

Nice.
SirJames is offline

SirJames

SirJames's Avatar
SasqWatch

#18

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,307
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)

Default 

September 20th, 2020, 10:59
Am I reading this right? The min. specs. require a 450 euro graphics card?
DarkELVES is offline

DarkELVES

Watchdog
Original Sin 2 Donor

#19

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)

Default 

September 20th, 2020, 11:34
Originally Posted by DarkELVES View Post
Am I reading this right? The min. specs. require a 450 euro graphics card?
No, the GeForce GTX 780 3GB and AMD Radeon RX 470 are very old cards. Sometimes if you look up old cards for purchase, you'll see silly prices for them. Both are outperformed by current budget cards from AMD and Nvidia, like the 1650S.
--
"An era can be considered over when its basic illusions have been exhausted." Arthur Miller
Ripper is offline

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela

#20

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9,317
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Cyberpunk 2077 - System Specs
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:28.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by DragonByte Security (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright by RPGWatch