PC not booting. - RPGWatch Forums
|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » PC not booting.

Default PC not booting.

April 19th, 2021, 20:07
My gaming rig won't boot since last night. It starts when I hit the power button, but it powers right back down 1-2 seconds into the process, and then just keeps repeating that until I flip the power switch off on the PSU. No beeps. Any ideas?

I'm going to take it apart and clean everything first to see if that helps. It has a lot of dust buildup so I'm hoping that's the issue even though I know odds are it's not. After that, it's off to buy a new PSU.

Almost forgot.. It's not BIOS related. I reset it both by using the reset button on my motherboard and by removing the battery.
JDR13 is online now

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch
Original Sin Donor

#1

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 30,255
Mentioned: 105 Post(s)

Default 

April 19th, 2021, 20:42
99% chance it is one of these things:
- PSU farted
- MoBo farted
- CPU cooler ain't cooling
- The connector between PSU and MoBo got lose (yes, I wouldn't believe if I haven't seen it once, it *is* possible)

Dust? Man, my rig has so much dust inside I can plant some flowers in it, not to mention fat film on everything inside from me smoking like a chimney by the PC for years. So no it's not that, but cleaning is a good idea generally so fans don't need to run like crazy. If only it wasn't a bigger chore than grinding…
Forget BIOS.
--
Toka Koka
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#2

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23,175
Mentioned: 200 Post(s)

Default 

April 19th, 2021, 21:20
Ideally, you should have an extra part for each of the components, so that you can go by elimination. Even more ideally, another PC that you can move, piece by piece, each one of your current components. But few people have that.

Aside from that, I'd remove all components aside from the minimum subset of components: gpu/cpu. And see how it fares.

But based on what you describe, it could very well be something PSU related. If it just shuts down without running enough for it to be something on the motherboard.

I just realized I've spent so little time in the past 10 years, debugging build issues, that I'd probably don't really know how to proceed, if it happened to me. The only thing simple enough is to look at the error code that my motherboard can list. And then check the manual.

I've also grown quite lazy with cleaning the inside of my case. Usually, I give it a canned-air cleaning every 1-2 years, and the temperature drops about 10 degrees.
danutz_plusplus is offline

danutz_plusplus

danutz_plusplus's Avatar
SasqWatch

#3

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,044
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)

Default 

April 19th, 2021, 21:53
Originally Posted by JDR13 View Post
My gaming rig won't boot since last night. It starts when I hit the power button, but it powers right back down 1-2 seconds into the process, and then just keeps repeating that until I flip the power switch off on the PSU. No beeps. Any ideas?

I'm going to take it apart and clean everything first to see if that helps. It has a lot of dust buildup so I'm hoping that's the issue even though I know odds are it's not. After that, it's off to buy a new PSU.

Almost forgot.. It's not BIOS related. I reset it both by using the reset button on my motherboard and by removing the battery.
Yeah, I'd start with a good cleanup, and, if it were me, I'd go a bit further and remove and reseat everything. Something might be making or not making a connection somewhere. Dust and gunk could also potentially cause heat issues on parts of the MB chipset.

It's not possible to rule out BIOS issues completely - since we moved to UEFI, the OS can and does mess with it. I had a system that started similar shenanigans, and I could reproduce it by doing a Windows update, and fix it by doing an emergency restore of the BIOS (not just a reset). I wouldn't think it's a likely cause, but such things go on.

If a clean up doesn't help, yeah - I'd look to the PSU next. They can become slightly faulty and cause all sorts of weird things.
--
"I cannot define the real problem, therefore I suspect there's no real problem, but I'm not sure there's no real problem."
Richard Feynman
Ripper is offline

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela
Super Moderator

#4

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10,445
Mentioned: 98 Post(s)

Default 

April 19th, 2021, 22:00
I already checked all the connections so I know it's nothing that simple. I doubt it has anything to do with the cooler, but I'm going to check that anyways.

I just got home with a couple of cans of electronics duster, and I'm about to give everything a good once over. Fingers crossed.

If I do have to replace something, I hope it's the PSU. That's one of the easier things to swap out, and mine is quite old anyways. I thought it was around 5 years old, but I found the receipt last night, and I was surprised to see it was from 2013. For a PSU in a heavily used gaming rig, that's ancient.
JDR13 is online now

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch
Original Sin Donor

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 30,255
Mentioned: 105 Post(s)

Default 

April 19th, 2021, 22:05
Originally Posted by JDR13 View Post
I already checked all the connections so I know it's nothing that simple. I doubt it has anything to do with the cooler, but I'm going to check that anyways.

I just got home with couple of cans of electronics duster, and I'm about to give everything a good once over. Fingers crossed.

If I do have to replace something, I hope it's the PSU. That's one of the easier things to swap out, and mine is quite old anyways. I thought it was around 5 years old, but I found the receipt last night, and I was surprised to see it was from 2013.
Yeah, that could be a definite possibility, I'd say.

When I talk about reseating everything, I'm thinking of doing a complete teardown - everything out of the case, cleaned up and put back together again. I have solved problems that way before, but maybe skip to trying a new PSU if that's a hassle.
--
"I cannot define the real problem, therefore I suspect there's no real problem, but I'm not sure there's no real problem."
Richard Feynman
Ripper is offline

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela
Super Moderator

#6

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10,445
Mentioned: 98 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

April 19th, 2021, 22:11
It's a PITA for sure, but I've needed to do it anyways. You'd probably be horrified if you saw the interior of my case right now. It's starting to remind me of one of the vaults from Fallout.
JDR13 is online now

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch
Original Sin Donor

#7

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 30,255
Mentioned: 105 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

April 19th, 2021, 22:16
Lol. I found a dead mouse in PC once, though it didn't appear to be causing any issues.
--
"I cannot define the real problem, therefore I suspect there's no real problem, but I'm not sure there's no real problem."
Richard Feynman
Ripper is offline

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela
Super Moderator

#8

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10,445
Mentioned: 98 Post(s)

Default 

April 19th, 2021, 23:44
Damn, I feel for you - mysterious shutdowns suck.
That sort of thing is probably less onerous for me - I have three machines and spare bits in our household, so plenty of opportunities for swapping stuff in and out to find out what it is - but not many have that luxury.

My gut feeling is that it's a PSU or Mobo issue (as per joxer, and I've had those symptoms for both), but I'd take your GFX card out and see what happens, just in case (not that that'd discount the PSU - it may be the lower draw doesn't trip it).

Good luck man!
--
Proud leader of the Shit Games Liberation Front
All your shit games are belong to us

FIRST KNIGHT OF THE ORDER OF THE BLOB
Shagnak is offline

Shagnak

Shagnak's Avatar
SGLF Founder

#9

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,238
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

April 20th, 2021, 00:29
As a new resident of Florida, I hope you have a battery back up & surge protector! Lightning capital of the damn country. In all likelihood it's either the PSU or motherboard.
Drithius is offline

Drithius

Drithius's Avatar
Laughing Gnome

#10

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 5,280
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

April 20th, 2021, 00:47
I’m surprised people don’t take better care of thier PC’s. I clean mine every few months but there’s never much dust anyway.

You can Grab a PSU tester for about $20. That’s where I’d start since it’s not posting.
Imo. is offline

Imo.

Watcher

#11

Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

April 20th, 2021, 01:02
So.. I got it to boot. No idea what it was specifically, but I took everything apart as Ripper suggested. I even removed the heatsink and reseated the CPU. Also removed all the thermal paste and applied a fresh layer.

I went through almost an entire 10oz can of duster blowing everything out. It was pretty bad.

I haven't placed any kind of load on it yet, so hopefully it's not just teasing me.

Originally Posted by Imo. View Post
Iím surprised people donít take better care of thier PCís. I clean mine every few months but thereís never much dust anyway.
Yeah, I have no one to blame but myself for letting it get that bad. I always say I'm going to clean it every 6 months, but I never get around to it. I think it's been around 3 years since the last time I did.
JDR13 is online now

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch
Original Sin Donor

#12

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 30,255
Mentioned: 105 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

April 20th, 2021, 01:10
Originally Posted by JDR13 View Post
So.. I got it to boot. No idea what it was specifically, but I took everything apart as Ripper suggested. I even removed the heatsink and reseated the CPU. Also removed all the thermal paste and applied a fresh layer.

I went through almost an entire 10oz can of duster blowing everything out. It was pretty bad.

I haven't placed any kind of load on it yet, so hopefully it's not just teasing me.

Sorry I don't have much to add. But wanted to wish you the best.
I've had some issues before, and it's a massive pain and stress.
Pladio is offline

Pladio

Pladio's Avatar
Guardian of Nonsense
Original Sin Donor

#13

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom
Posts: 7,160
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

April 20th, 2021, 02:01
Sorry this had happened JDR - indeed not knowing is really stressful.

The only incident this happened to me is when my PSU was failing as it was not able to provide sufficient power to the different components. I noticed the PC starting to turn off trying to reboot when I activated the DVD drive, and then when I installed a new graphics card (even though within the power limits of the PSU). When I put a new power supply, it was working fine.

It might be also the case that some components are also starting to draw more power from the supply (driven by Windows, other software, fans .. etc.) and overloading the PSU.

Anyways I hope that it will be sorted out.
SpoonFULL is offline

SpoonFULL

SpoonFULL's Avatar
SasqWatch

#14

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,450
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

April 20th, 2021, 05:54
Glad you got it up and running. Hopefully it wont give you anymore issues.
Imo. is offline

Imo.

Watcher

#15

Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

April 20th, 2021, 07:09
Also glad to hear you got it to work. A suddenly unusable computer is one of my fears, since I both need it for work and rely on it heavily for fun stuff. I went through this whole weird thing a few months back where I could no longer use the software I need for a lot of my work and had to set up a separate log in (to my PC itself) to access it. It resolved itself after about a week, but I was very confused and slightly panicked in the meantime.

And thanks for the reminder to clean the dust out of the case.
JFarrell71 is online now

JFarrell71

SasqWatch

#16

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

April 20th, 2021, 12:40
Hope the spring clean and service does the trick. Sometimes it's hard to know exactly what the problem was, but in some cases that will sort things out.

I like to use cases that are designed for easy access and management. The NZXT's are my standard choice. For dust problems, the trick is to use a case like that with good airflow, and positive air pressure to make sure the air flows through the dust filters. A couple of big, quiet fans on a decent case will do it.
--
"I cannot define the real problem, therefore I suspect there's no real problem, but I'm not sure there's no real problem."
Richard Feynman
Ripper is offline

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela
Super Moderator

#17

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10,445
Mentioned: 98 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

April 20th, 2021, 15:35
I have a cat that loves to use my tower case as her sleeping/bathing spot. I have to open the case every couple months to vacuum out the cat hair. She loves the hot air coming out the top.
--
c-computer, r-role, p-playing, g-game, nut-extreme fan
=crpgnut or just
'nut @crpgnut
aka survivalnut
crpgnut is offline

crpgnut

crpgnut's Avatar
Survival Game Nut
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin Donor

#18

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, Mo USA
Posts: 8,536
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)

Default 

April 20th, 2021, 18:50
Glad you fixed it, but I just wanted to chip in. What you experienced sounds to me like memory problem. Sometimes the PC will go crazy and refuse to work with your RAM as it is. It then tries to reboot itself while changing the RAM speed. If it fails it reboots and tries another speed and so on, and so on. If it can't boot for some reason with any speed it will just cycle the process until you turn it off. Reseating your RAM stick(s) can usually fix your problem (and I suspect it is what did it in your case). So my advice for anyone who has similar problems is to reseat their RAM first since it's fast and easy to do. If it's an older RAM (or simply newer RAM witch is not 100% compatible/tested with the motherboard, they usually have the list of tested ram on mobo website) you might need to do it a few times. I hope it helps anyone who has similar problems.
Ivanwah is offline

Ivanwah

Keeper of the Watch

#19

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 747
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » PC not booting.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:07.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by DragonByte Security (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright by RPGWatch