|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » Code 43 error with video card.

Default Code 43 error with video card.

June 19th, 2018, 03:52
Aargh! You're having some seriously bad luck there buddy
--
Proud leader of the Shit Games Liberation Front
All your shit games are belong to us
Shagnak is offline

Shagnak

Shagnak's Avatar
SGLF Founder

#21

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)

Default 

June 19th, 2018, 13:07
Oh man, that would annoy me.

One thing I would suggest for anyone who tinkers inside their PC - get an oversized case with really good cable management. Fiddling around in a cramped case is an exercise in frustration.
--
"Orwell was almost exactly wrong in a strange way. He thought the world would end with Big Brother watching us, but it ended with us watching Big Brother." Alan Moore
Ripper is online now

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela

#22

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,632
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)

Default 

June 19th, 2018, 14:50
I prefer ITX cases; the smaller the better. Having said that you can run your cpu without a cooler; just don't do a lot or it will auto-shutdown. Having said that I hate intel heat sink even when they work. AMD - now that was a heat sink. I've been using noctua for my new builds - cost an arm and a leg but love the design and keeps the cpu 30 degree cooler than intel. Having said that you can get the same effectiveness for 1/2 the price - but I started with them on my itx build because I had tight clearance on some of the mb and many of the better altneratives wouldn't fit (ram slots too close to the cpu).
you is offline

you

Lazy_dog
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 2 Donor

#23

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa - boston
Posts: 4,970
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)

Default 

June 19th, 2018, 14:55
I'm with Ripper on cases. My cat can lay in the bottom of my case, there is so much room Not that I suggest it though. I already have to blow out cat hair every couple months. 3 cats will do that to you. I also have a dog but his hair seems to stay on the bed sheets where it belongs
--
c-computer, r-role, p-playing, g-game, nut-extreme fan
=crpgnut or just
'nut @crpgnut
crpgnut is online now

crpgnut

crpgnut's Avatar
Grumpy Role Player
Original Sin Donor

#24

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, Mo USA
Posts: 7,182
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)

Default 

June 19th, 2018, 15:05
Different cases can't guarantee accidents like this one above won't happen.

The actual reason something can easily go south is the PC architecture. While everything is slowly turning into USB pluggers (even external GPUs now exist) we're still using ancient IBM PC architecture with crapload of different ports, different protocols and, of course, screws as if we're using mechanics and not electronics.
I'm not saying USB should become standard for everything, but we need to abandon the system of building a skeleton with bones already.
--
Toka Koka
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#25

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18,405
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)

Default 

June 19th, 2018, 15:50
Well the new intel puts the gpu with the cpu; and zotac puts the 1080 on the mb. Anyway this isn't because of the architecture. The fact is current system need cooling. That might change in the future but as long as cooling is required there is an opportunity for one more aspect of the system to fail. Failure happens many different ways - jdr just hit one of them. I've had intel fans outright fail. Using a USB gpu wouldn't have helped.

Originally Posted by joxer View Post
Different cases can't guarantee accidents like this one above won't happen.

The actual reason something can easily go south is the PC architecture. While everything is slowly turning into USB pluggers (even external GPUs now exist) we're still using ancient IBM PC architecture with crapload of different ports, different protocols and, of course, screws as if we're using mechanics and not electronics.
I'm not saying USB should become standard for everything, but we need to abandon the system of building a skeleton with bones already.
you is offline

you

Lazy_dog
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 2 Donor

#26

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa - boston
Posts: 4,970
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)

Default 

June 19th, 2018, 15:57
Use it as an opportunity to test your card. All this playing around with drivers, Ubuntu USB sticks and reinstalling OS counts for nothing if your GPU croaked. It really should have been the very first thing you did.
--
"As democracy is perfected, the office of president represents, more and more closely, the inner soul of the people. On some great and glorious day the plain folks of the land will reach their heart's desire at last and the White House will be adorned by a downright moron." H. L. Mencken
zahratustra is offline

zahratustra

SasqWatch

#27

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,704
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)

Default 

June 19th, 2018, 18:42
He is; he was going to try linux but now he has decided to pull it and take it to a friend. In the process he discovered that he killed his cpu fan and now he needs to also replace that.

Originally Posted by zahratustra View Post
Use it as an opportunity to test your card. All this playing around with drivers, Ubuntu USB sticks and reinstalling OS counts for nothing if your GPU croaked. It really should have been the very first thing you did.
you is offline

you

Lazy_dog
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 2 Donor

#28

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa - boston
Posts: 4,970
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)

Default 

June 20th, 2018, 01:02
Managed to borrow an old 9600 GT from a friend. Gonna throw that in my system later to see if it works and then hopefully I should know if I need to RMA my card.

No luck on getting a new cpu cooler in this podunk town I live in. I went to 3 different computer shops, and the only compatible cooler I could find was some massive Arctic model that they wanted $75 for. Even the local Best Buy didn't have any regular air-cooled types. All they had was a liquid-cooled Corsair which I thought was pretty odd. Why would you carry a high-end liquid-cooled solution but not any normal coolers?

I ended up just ordering a basic Arctic Alpine cooler from Newegg with 2-day shipping.
JDR13 is online now

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch
Original Sin Donor

#29

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 25,090
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)

Default 

June 20th, 2018, 14:03
Originally Posted by you View Post
Well the new intel puts the gpu with the cpu
I believe we're not discussing phones and consoles here. SoC and APU have no place in gaming PC - even with fully supported dx12/vulkan product it's more efficent to combine two proper GPUs.
--
Toka Koka
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#30

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18,405
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)

Default 

June 20th, 2018, 17:05
Get with the trend joxer; it will one day in the not too far future be much cheaper and faster to just buy a single silicon solution. When we had intel silly gpu it made sense to get a dedicated gpu but when that gpu is equivalent to a 1080 or better most people will opt for the single silicon solution - after all they can always add a dedicated gpu later if needed.

Originally Posted by joxer View Post
I believe we're not discussing phones and consoles here. SoC and APU have no place in gaming PC - even with fully supported dx12/vulkan product it's more efficent to combine two proper GPUs.
you is offline

you

Lazy_dog
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 2 Donor

#31

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa - boston
Posts: 4,970
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)

Default 

June 21st, 2018, 01:22
Well, I'm pretty sure my video card is borked. The 9600 GT I borrowed works fine in my system, but reinstalling my card brings back the same issue again. Looks like I'll be starting an RMA tomorrow.

In almost 20 years of building my own systems, this is the first time I've had a graphics card go bad.
JDR13 is online now

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch
Original Sin Donor

#32

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 25,090
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)

Default 

June 21st, 2018, 03:55
Yeah, seems like a fairly rare occurrence. Mind you, I don't overclock or anything like that.
I've only ever had it happen once, and that was with a second hand Radeon R7 270 I bought off an auction site that only lasted a few months. It's the only desktop AMD card I've ever had, and only because I had a Crossfire mobo I wanted to try out. Never got around to buying the second video card that Crossfire would have required anyway, and now I'm back to nVidia-land.
--
Proud leader of the Shit Games Liberation Front
All your shit games are belong to us
Shagnak is offline

Shagnak

Shagnak's Avatar
SGLF Founder

#33

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)

Default 

June 21st, 2018, 04:05
I'm an Nvidia guy all the way. I've had Radeons in the past, but it's been a long time since I went with an AMD card. I don't see that changing anytime soon.
JDR13 is online now

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch
Original Sin Donor

#34

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 25,090
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

June 21st, 2018, 12:31
I used to swap between Radeon and Nvidia every generation but a few years ago ATi fell behind and when AMD acquired ATI that was the end (AMD took ATI massive bitcoin profit and used it to stay afloat rather than push the GPU envelope like Nvidia). ATI (AMD) is finally on the verge of making a generation leap so maybe sometime in the future I will switch back.
you is offline

you

Lazy_dog
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 2 Donor

#35

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa - boston
Posts: 4,970
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)

Default 

June 24th, 2018, 19:00
Originally Posted by JDR13 View Post
Well, I'm pretty sure my video card is borked. The 9600 GT I borrowed works fine in my system, but reinstalling my card brings back the same issue again. Looks like I'll be starting an RMA tomorrow.

In almost 20 years of building my own systems, this is the first time I've had a graphics card go bad.
Where did you get it ? I've read reports of faked electronic parts for PCs sold on Amazon. An recent example in a magazine was about an older router which got even re-labelled.
--
Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction. (E.F.Schumacher, Economist, Source)
Alrik Fassbauer is offline

Alrik Fassbauer

Alrik Fassbauer's Avatar
TL;DR
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#36

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 17,933
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)

Default 

June 24th, 2018, 19:21
That's amazon europe with fake or broken electronics. And I'm confirming it happened twice on me - first time was shame on them, second was shame on me. I do not buy electronics from amazon any more, there are numerous online shops that didn't try to scam me.

That aside. He doesn't live in europe.
--
Toka Koka
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#37

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18,405
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)

Default 

June 24th, 2018, 20:15
How did you discover that those were fakes joxer?
--
"As democracy is perfected, the office of president represents, more and more closely, the inner soul of the people. On some great and glorious day the plain folks of the land will reach their heart's desire at last and the White House will be adorned by a downright moron." H. L. Mencken
zahratustra is offline

zahratustra

SasqWatch

#38

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,704
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)

Default 

June 24th, 2018, 21:28
Easily. Both gadgets were pisspoor pieces of shit and didn't work as expected. On driver installation you notice it's a driver for inferior chip, not for the one that's supposed to be inside the gadget. In other words you pay for quality and receive almost a dud. It does work, sure, but with horribly low efficiency you'd pay 10 times less if you wanted such garbage in the first place.

Today it wouldn't be so easy to notice as win10 does driver installation behind scenes automatically… But sill. In my case it's no to electronics from amazon.
Note also that this doesn't happen with everything! You just need to be unlucky, seems there is absolutely no quality control on amazon's side. Not in europe.
--
Toka Koka
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#39

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18,405
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)

Default 

June 24th, 2018, 21:48
Originally Posted by JDR13 View Post
In almost 20 years of building my own systems, this is the first time I've had a graphics card go bad.
You've been really lucky! My 6800 and 9800 both blew up on me. The worst part is they both got replaced with inferior cards that just wasted more money while trying to save it.

6800 got replaced with a 8600GTS which was cheap and absolutely rubbish. So much worse. Then the 9800 got replaced with a 560ti for a while but I replaced that with a 680 pretty quickly when I upgraded CPU to quadcore. The 680 was fantastic.

I remember thinking if only I'd gone for the 570 I could have kept the card going another year but the 560 just didn't have enough ram. Always go for the 70 or 80 and don't be tempted by the 60 version!
SirJames is online now

SirJames

SirJames's Avatar
SasqWatch

#40

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,636
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » Code 43 error with video card.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:45.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright by RPGWatch