Baldur's Gate Noob Questions

D

Deleted User

Hello!

So, after finishing Vampire: The Masquerade - Bloodlines, I've decided to try Baldur's Gate. I have some questions to help me better understand the game as I'm new to the Baldur's Gate series.

1 - Is there any point to holding on to gems? Gem crafting, maybe?

2 - Are there re-spawning enemies or random encounters?

3 - How about non-enchanted rings and amulets. Any purpose for these?

4 - Is there a time limit to the game?

5 - Is it recommended to pick up every generic piece of loot to sell, or should I just focus on the good stuff?

6 - Are the maps generally empty? And is it recommended to clear an entire map of fog?

7 - Do weapons break? Can they be repaired?

8 - Do deadlier creatures spawn at night?

That should be all for now but I'll post more as I think of them. Thanks!

Honestly… I think you're better off just playing the game a bit first and experiencing it for yourself rather than being told so much about it. Some of your questions would indicate that you haven't even started playing it yet.

Just roleplay, and stop worrying if everything you do is the best way to do something.

Basic weapons can break (it's story-related), and they can't be repaired, but it doesn't matter much as you won't be using them for long. The day-night cycle affects some NPCs but it doesn't change anything for creatures. Normal gems, rings, and amulets are only for money. No, there's no time limit. Enemies only respawn in a few select places.

There are random encounters. Even years later you will hear, "You have been waylaid by bandits and must defend yourself."

Also, I would recommend that you clear every map. There are usually several surprises in each map. They aren't always amazing, but the extra experience comes in handy.

Just roleplay, and stop worrying if everything you do is the best way to do something.