Buying new PC ( for 2077)..any recommendations - Page 3 - RPGWatch Forums
|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » Buying new PC ( for 2077)..any recommendations

Default Buying new PC ( for 2077)..any recommendations

July 22nd, 2019, 21:38
Originally Posted by you View Post
Unlike linux; windows driver management is completely broken. The old install probably lacks the drivers for the new system (unless old cpu was the same cpu and if it was intel you are really screwed).
-
The best solution i've found (others might have a better solution) is to make a backup of the old system (might be hard now); then do a windows recovery on the new system using the backup to restore the content.
Wait, can I use this?

https://www.instar-informatika.hr/ge…m_medium=click
Bobo is offline

Bobo

Traveler

#41

Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

July 22nd, 2019, 22:42
If I understand, you have a new installation on a new disk, which is booting, but you have files on the old disk you want to transfer? If it's crashing when you reconnect the old disk, it's most likely because it's trying to boot from that one, and failing. If you push the key to choose a boot device at bios startup (often F11 or F12), then make sure you choose the new disk to boot from, the old one should just appear as a secondary disk in Windows, and you can drag the files over.
--
"Where can the horizon lie, when a nation hides its organic minds in a cellar, dark and grim? They must be very dim." David Bowie, All the Madmen (1970)
Ripper is offline

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela

#42

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8,615
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)

Default 

July 23rd, 2019, 02:01
He can also set it via the bios but i took his comment to mean he wanted to copy his software (games et all) - and if he simply copies it - the registry will be foobar since none of the executable will be registered (or the values they might use for correct operation - another crap fest from ms - then again if these are steam games it might not matter - no clue if steam uses the registry for installed games - never bothered to examine mine). Perhaps i misunderstood and your comment is correct in which case everything you said is correct - perhaps boo needs to explain what he is trying to accomplish.

Originally Posted by Ripper View Post
If I understand, you have a new installation on a new disk, which is booting, but you have files on the old disk you want to transfer? If it's crashing when you reconnect the old disk, it's most likely because it's trying to boot from that one, and failing. If you push the key to choose a boot device at bios startup (often F11 or F12), then make sure you choose the new disk to boot from, the old one should just appear as a secondary disk in Windows, and you can drag the files over.
you is offline

you

Lazy_dog
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 2 Donor

#43

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa - boston
Posts: 7,054
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)

Default 

July 23rd, 2019, 02:03
Why would you need that - see ripper comment - what are you trying to accomplish ?

Originally Posted by Bobo View Post
Wait, can I use this?

https://www.instar-informatika.hr/ge…m_medium=click
you is offline

you

Lazy_dog
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 2 Donor

#44

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa - boston
Posts: 7,054
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)

Default 

July 23rd, 2019, 03:40
I also use and enjoy mechanical keyboards. The one I have is very compact and the design removes the number pad. I really like a smaller mechanical keyboard with my laptop because laptop keyboards pretty much suck and with a compact mechanical keyboard it is easy to take it along with me.

It's a matter of taste but I vastly prefer the feel and quality of mechanical keyboards over most others. That said, there are good non mechanical keyboards out there as well.

Also, I think getting 32GB ram memory is a good idea so you don't have to worry about that for a long time.

My general philosophy with buying computers (and other things too) is "you get what you pay for". If you want quality you have to pay for it, and it is well worth it in the long run.
--
To check out my games library, and see what recent games I'm playing, visit my steam profile! -- http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561197982351404
Arkadia7 is offline

Arkadia7

Arkadia7's Avatar
SasqWatch
Original Sin 2 Donor

#45

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pacific NorthWest, USA!
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)

Default 

July 23rd, 2019, 10:37
Originally Posted by Bobo View Post
Wait, can I use this?

https://www.instar-informatika.hr/ge…m_medium=click
Don't buy that unless your old HDD is IDE and I bet it's not if you can plug it in your new motherboard. I have that adapter and you need to babysit it (bugs you with messages) during any data transfer.
If you plan to use your old HDD as an external drive, buy a proper SATA dock instead.
If I'm wrong and it's really IDE HDD, transfer the data over some internet cloud or USB stick/disk instead of messing around with gadgetery you'll use once and never again. Then throw the bloody IDE disk away.
Originally Posted by Bobo View Post
Any advice on driver installation…image looks a bit fuzzy.
Also best way to retrieve files from old HD..tried to plug it in with new PC, but ends up crashing ( start up repair does not work).
I'm not quite sure what are you saying there, why would startup repair occur because of a secondary HDD problem?
If you're using old HDD as system disk, check settings in BIOS/UEFI about HDDs, it's possible something is not set properly. If not, let win10 to fully update, then post if the blurry screen persists and the old HDD still misbehaves.
If you're trying to boot the new PC with an ancient win7 installation that was left on the old HDD, just forgeddit. Theoretically should work, sure, but usually doesn't. Use clean install of OS, please.

I know there are too many of ifs, but without details it's not kinda possible to answer properly.
--
Toka Koka
Last edited by joxer; July 23rd, 2019 at 11:03.
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#46

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20,984
Mentioned: 139 Post(s)

Default 

August 21st, 2019, 09:16
Originally Posted by joxer View Post
If you're trying to boot the new PC with an ancient win7 installation that was left on the old HDD, just forgeddit. Theoretically should work, sure, but usually doesn't. Use clean install of OS, please.

I know there are too many of ifs, but without details it's not kinda possible to answer properly.
As you said,make a clean install of OS,that's how i installed Windows 10 on my computer.
Camsum is offline

Camsum

Traveler

#47

Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

August 23rd, 2019, 08:58
Originally Posted by Camsum View Post
As you said,make a clean install of OS,that's how i installed Windows 10 on my computer.
Like this https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-clea…indows-2624904
And https://www.androidphonesoft.com/res…ion-media.html
To be frank,install Windows 10 from a Windows installation disc is a common method without lossing.
Camsum is offline

Camsum

Traveler

#48

Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

August 23rd, 2019, 15:41
discs are outdated; use a usb.

Originally Posted by Camsum View Post
Like this https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-clea…indows-2624904
And https://www.androidphonesoft.com/res…ion-media.html
To be frank,install Windows 10 from a Windows installation disc is a common method without lossing.
you is offline

you

Lazy_dog
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 2 Donor

#49

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa - boston
Posts: 7,054
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)

Default 

August 24th, 2019, 12:08
My personal strong advice is to use a motherboard that has an Legacy Module in its BIOS - meaning : not only UEFI - , this way you could perhaps install older OSses and the successor of OS/2, the "eComStation". And this OS needs such an "Legacy Module" …

I'm currently thinking of buying this OS myself, because it comes with native DOS. Means I could dig out my old DOS and Windows 3.1 games and maybe play them without the need of an emulator …

But on the other hand, there's the DOSBOX emulator by Vogons out there as well …
--
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction." (E.F.Schumacher, Economist, Source)
Alrik Fassbauer is offline

Alrik Fassbauer

Alrik Fassbauer's Avatar
TL;DR
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#50

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 18,734
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)

Default 

August 24th, 2019, 12:57
I wouldn't go down that route, Alrik. I think there would be all sorts of issues getting DOS games to run natively on modern hardware, if it would work at all. I would either go with DOSbox emulation (which is very good), or buy an actual PC from the DOS era on ebay for a full retro experience.

EDIT: I had a quick Google because I was curious about eComStation. It provides DOS compatibility, as OS2 did, through emulation. You would be paying $145 for a specialist OS that's meant for enterprises that are stuck with legacy software, and it would be providing DOS through emulation, just as DOSbox would for free on your PC.
--
"Where can the horizon lie, when a nation hides its organic minds in a cellar, dark and grim? They must be very dim." David Bowie, All the Madmen (1970)
Last edited by Ripper; August 24th, 2019 at 13:11.
Ripper is offline

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela

#51

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8,615
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

August 25th, 2019, 04:20
Since Cyberpunk 2077 is probably releasing next year, and it will release on consoles, it presumably has to run on XBoxOne and PS4. The next gen consoles are supposed to possibly come out in late 2020 so I suppose CDPR release it in late 2020 or actually release the PC version first and next gen console versions at the end of the year… or release it on XBOne and PS4 and then later release an "enhanced" version on XBoxTwo / PS5…

But still, it has to run on the dated console hardware. Unless Microsoft or Sony forks over money for a timed exclusive on their new system, they'll probably release on the current consoles for a much bigger potential market. Maybe the PC version will allow for a few special graphical tweaks. For ex: a Direct X 12 version for Windows 10 users with GPUs that support DX12… Or 4K resolution support. But how much are they really going to invest in graphics tweaks for a relatively small percentage of the market?

TL: DR I agree with those that say you should wait; at least until there's a solid release date and somewhat official system recommendations from CDPR. Your current PC might basically be all you need.
--
Currently Playing: Heroine's Quest, Quest For Infamy, Planescape: Torment
daveyd is offline

daveyd

daveyd's Avatar
Turn-based lifeform
RPGWatch Donor

#52

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)

Default 

August 25th, 2019, 07:06
Yeah, don't run Win10 Legacy. You're begging for trouble.
--
c-computer, r-role, p-playing, g-game, nut-extreme fan
=crpgnut or just
'nut @crpgnut
crpgnut is offline

crpgnut

crpgnut's Avatar
Grumpy Role Player
Original Sin Donor

#53

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, Mo USA
Posts: 7,611
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)

Default 

August 26th, 2019, 11:07
Originally Posted by daveyd View Post
Since Cyberpunk 2077 is probably releasing next year, and it will release on consoles, it presumably has to run on XBoxOne and PS4.
It has to, but:
- At 30 frames per second with dips to 15
- Without hairworks
- With less NPCs and possibly less vehicles on streets than on PC
- With as much blur as possible everywhere, not just motion blur
--
Toka Koka
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#54

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20,984
Mentioned: 139 Post(s)
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » Buying new PC ( for 2077)..any recommendations
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:13.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by DragonByte Security (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright by RPGWatch