Quantcast
Can't start New game - RPGWatch Forums
|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Piranha Bytes » Gothic 3 » Can't start New game

Default Can't start New game

October 28th, 2007, 05:43
I bought gothic 3 and installed it no problem. When I start a new game it will load it all the way up and then crash. I downloaded all the patches and still won't work. Can anyone help me?
justin89 is offline

justin89

Traveler

#1

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

October 28th, 2007, 22:47
haha same here, so help me too
--
"Yrden, trap it with a Yrden!"
"YOU COME DOWN HERE AND TRAP IT!"
lol gotta love Geralt
cptmaxon is offline

cptmaxon

cptmaxon's Avatar
Watchdog

#2

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

October 29th, 2007, 03:22
from my experience, if the game shows the loading screen then crashes.. it may due to video drivers being too old, provided your gfx card is up to G3's requirements..
--
• Intel C2D E4500 @2.20GHz • Kingston 2GB RAM (DDR2 667) • MSI NX 9800GT (512MB DDR3)
lanux128 is offline

lanux128

Sentinel

#3

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

October 29th, 2007, 04:26
well i looked and i have the latest drivers so that is not the problem unfortunately
justin89 is offline

justin89

Traveler

#4

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

October 29th, 2007, 07:46
what is the model of the gfx card you're using? a bit more details about your system specs will be more helpful in finding out the problem..
--
• Intel C2D E4500 @2.20GHz • Kingston 2GB RAM (DDR2 667) • MSI NX 9800GT (512MB DDR3)
lanux128 is offline

lanux128

Sentinel

#5

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

October 29th, 2007, 16:46
I got an AMD Turion 64 ML-37 2.00 GHz with a NVIDIA 7900 GO GS (Laptop) w/ 2gb ram
justin89 is offline

justin89

Traveler

#6

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

October 29th, 2007, 18:20
hmmmm well… seems ok exept for that 2.00Ghz (is it dual core?) also dunno about that Laptop videocard
gaboru93 is offline

gaboru93

gaboru93's Avatar
Sentinel

#7

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

October 30th, 2007, 04:13
yea its a dual core
justin89 is offline

justin89

Traveler

#8

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

October 30th, 2007, 11:51
then i cannot understand what your problem is… try to uninstall G3 .. delete all of it's components… patch to 1.12 and comunity… and dunno maybe it will work! (sorry for the community typo)
gaboru93 is offline

gaboru93

gaboru93's Avatar
Sentinel

#9

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

October 30th, 2007, 15:44
I think you need to update your direct X also (unless of course you have Vista?). There a new direct x9.0c for download at Microsoft's direct x site.

If you have Vista, you will need to rigghtclick on the Gothic icon on your desktop and choose the 'always run as an admin option'. I don't know if Gothic 3 will run on a 64bit? machine?
aries100 is offline

aries100

SasqWatch
RPGWatch Team

#10

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denmark, Europe
Posts: 2,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

October 31st, 2007, 00:52
Did you install that DualCore fix on the G3 DVD? Iīm not sure for which CPUs and OSes it is, though. Maybe you should also post your problem in the other Gothic forums. Increases your chances.

DirectX always ahs to be up to date. MS releases new versions under the same name every few months.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
Moderator
RPGWatch Team
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#11

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7,890
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)

Default 

October 31st, 2007, 05:11
Im not sure about that install part ill try to reinstall it. I am going to try to d/l the direct update only problem for me is the file is so large.
justin89 is offline

justin89

Traveler

#12

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

November 2nd, 2007, 07:13
also check in the JoWooD forums, they might have some clues..

• Gothic 3 - Technical Support
--
• Intel C2D E4500 @2.20GHz • Kingston 2GB RAM (DDR2 667) • MSI NX 9800GT (512MB DDR3)
lanux128 is offline

lanux128

Sentinel

#13

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

November 3rd, 2007, 23:18
Well Nvidia just released some new SLI Drivers for Vista and once I d/l those it worked fine. Thanks for everyones help though.
justin89 is offline

justin89

Traveler

#14

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

November 4th, 2007, 19:42
good work! have fun in the game
gaboru93 is offline

gaboru93

gaboru93's Avatar
Sentinel

#15

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

November 5th, 2007, 06:51
so it was driver incompatibility then..
--
• Intel C2D E4500 @2.20GHz • Kingston 2GB RAM (DDR2 667) • MSI NX 9800GT (512MB DDR3)
lanux128 is offline

lanux128

Sentinel

#16

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

November 5th, 2007, 17:32
Yea there was a problem w/ the drivers working with vista
justin89 is offline

justin89

Traveler

#17

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

November 6th, 2007, 17:11
hey justin, what was the error message you were given? did you get one at all?
--
"Yrden, trap it with a Yrden!"
"YOU COME DOWN HERE AND TRAP IT!"
lol gotta love Geralt
cptmaxon is offline

cptmaxon

cptmaxon's Avatar
Watchdog

#18

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

November 7th, 2007, 02:25
cptmaxon: most probably there were none. if the drivers are incompatible then the game will end abruptly just as it is about to load the world.. if you have similar problems try upgrading your drivers. here is one good place to start..

Downloads :: Guru3D.com
--
• Intel C2D E4500 @2.20GHz • Kingston 2GB RAM (DDR2 667) • MSI NX 9800GT (512MB DDR3)
lanux128 is offline

lanux128

Sentinel

#19

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Piranha Bytes » Gothic 3 » Can't start New game
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:13.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright by RPGWatch