Your favorite dungeon-crawler?

D

Deleted User

Hello everyone. :)

I'm just curious - What are some of your favorite dungeon-crawler RPGs? o_O

I ask because I'm a bit new to this sub-genre, with Elminage Gothic being my first real foray into the dungeon-crawler realm.

Of course, I've played Diablo, Sacred 2 and other hack n' slash games, but haven't played much of anything that would really be labeled a true "dungeon crawler".

Elminage Gothic is quite good and I really enjoy it. I would recommend it to anyone interested in this style of game. It has a first-person perspective, party-based gameplay with turn-based combat, and lots of interesting bits to discover in the various dungeons.

So, what are some of your favorite dungeon-crawlers throughout the years? o_O

Hmm, if "dungeon crawler" means you spend most of the game in the dungeon and not in the overworld, then Diablo 1 hands down for being the spookiest and most atmospheric, where each new level felt like a big victory.

Hmm, if "dungeon crawler" means you spend most of the game in the dungeon and not in the overworld…

Assuming the same, I'd have to say Arx Fatalis easily wins this category for me. Diablo 1 if we're talking isometric view. Although I suppose I haven't actually played many games that take place entirely or almost entirely underground.

Hm, hard. I really enjoyed Legend of Grimrock, Eye of the Beholder & Arx Fatalis. I guess Ultima Underworld 2 also counts as a dungeon crawler (that one was also great).

Good answers, both of you.

Arx Fatalis is a game I have to play sometime. It's in my massive backlog of games I never had the opportunity to play in their heyday.

Diablo 1 is certainly a dungeon-crawler but it's also *the* title that defined the hack n' slash sub-genre of RPGs as well. The quintessential "action RPG".

Are the Wizardry and Might and Magic games considered dungeon-crawlers? o_O