Baldur's Gate 3 - In Development ? - Page 3 - RPGWatch Forums
|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Baldur's Gate 3 - In Development ?

Default Baldur's Gate 3 - In Development ?

October 8th, 2018, 02:33
I've played 123 hours according to Steam and haven't been annoyed by load screens. Are you restarting your computer? That seems to help. The longest one I have is about 7 seconds going into or out of the throne room. The rest are fine for me.
TheRealFluent is offline

TheRealFluent

TheRealFluent's Avatar
H.O.O. Inquisitor

#41

Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1,232
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 02:34
Found an older article about game load times, and the reason why.

Link - https://kotaku.com/why-games-still-h…mes-1795548921
Oftentimes, developers don’t even know their own game well enough to effectively finesse the load times until near the end of a development cycle. Game development is made up of countless moving pieces, each of which is on the verge of catching on fire at any given moment. It’s a series of trade-offs. Implementing one thing over here might cause longer loading times or crashing bugs over there. It depends on the game engine, too. Some engines handle the particularities of certain loading techniques better than others, and most general-purpose game engines are built before developers really know how their particular game will turn out. There’s guesswork involved, and those guesses don’t always pan out.

To avoid breaking stuff, developers typically like to have the content of their games locked in before they start surgically slicing away at things like load times. Problem is, that doesn’t usually happen until near the end of development, when there’s just a pinch of sand left in the hourglass. Developers can only address so many problems before it’s time to send a game off to certification and then release. And load times aren’t the highest thing on the priority list.

“When you enter the home stretch to ship a game, you take stock of all the problems it has and prioritize each based on the costs and benefits of fixing [or] improving it,” JP LeBreton, a designer who has worked on games like BioShock and Spacebase DF-9, said in an email. “For launch, devs often prioritize stability—making sure the game never crashes, and is fully playable/completable—over performance.”
Originally Posted by TheRealFluent View Post
I've played 123 hours according to Steam and haven't been annoyed by load screens. Are you restarting your computer? That seems to help. The longest one I have is about 7 seconds going into or out of the throne room. The rest are fine for me.
I seem to be the unlucky one with every Unity RPG game released. The small percentage that gets, and still has longer load times & leaks. It freaking sucks I tell ya.

Though based on Steam, and Meta-critic I'm not the only one.
--
“Progress isn't made by early risers. It's made by
lazy men trying to find easier ways to do something.” ― Robert Heinlein
Last edited by Couchpotato; October 8th, 2018 at 03:26. Reason: Small Fixes
Couchpotato is offline

Couchpotato

Couchpotato's Avatar
Lazy Layabout

#42

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 21,342
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 02:43
Originally Posted by Couchpotato View Post
Found an older article about game load times, and the reason why.

Link - https://kotaku.com/why-games-still-h…mes-1795548921
I seem to be the unlucky one with every Unity RPG game released. The small percentage that gets, and still has longer load times & leaks. It freaking sucks I yell ya.

Though based on Steam, and Meta-critic I'm not the only one.
Thats why you get an I7 processor. Unity games are CPU bound unlike most engines.
Silver is offline

Silver

Silver's Avatar
Spaceman
RPGWatch Team

#43

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 7,093
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 02:56
Yea, I never had any trouble with Wasteland 2, and I know its Unity. It ran very smoothly. No long loading times or issues that I can recall.

I do have an I7 processor, so maybe that is part of it. I don't have a SSD though, and want to get one. I know with a lot of today's games, it can make a big difference.
--
To check out my games library, and see what recent games I'm playing, visit my steam profile! -- http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561197982351404
Arkadia7 is offline

Arkadia7

Arkadia7's Avatar
SasqWatch
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 2 Donor

#44

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pacific NorthWest, USA!
Posts: 1,557
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 03:04
Originally Posted by Silver View Post
Thats why you get an I7 processor. Unity games are CPU bound unlike most engines.
Maybe but the latest AMD CPU's are similar if not a bit better in some areas. Still it sounds like a coding problem as all the hardware, and system specs are optimal.

Someone should do a survey to see if it really is a AMD vs Intel CPU problem.
--
“Progress isn't made by early risers. It's made by
lazy men trying to find easier ways to do something.” ― Robert Heinlein
Last edited by Couchpotato; October 8th, 2018 at 03:26. Reason: Small Fixes
Couchpotato is offline

Couchpotato

Couchpotato's Avatar
Lazy Layabout

#45

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 21,342
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 03:12
I'd be very surprised if these big discrepancies have much to do with CPU speeds, unless you have a really low power system.
--
"Where can the horizon lie, when a nation hides its organic minds in a cellar, dark and grim? They must be very dim." David Bowie, All the Madmen (1970)
Ripper is offline

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela

#46

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8,616
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 03:21
Originally Posted by Ripper View Post
I'd be very surprised if these big discrepancies have much to do with CPU speeds, unless you have a really low power system.
Yep like we talked about before bad coding & the Unity Engine.
If you didn't play any of the Unity Enginge created RPGs recently, let me tell you this: I played PoE, Torment: TotN, Tyranny and this one (maybe I'm forgeting one).

Each and everyone of these games has problems with the loading times. A SSD won't do that much either. It doesn't even matter which platform you play on.

(I even played Torment on a PS4 & A PC).

The Unity Engine isn't made for games like this as it seems.

So the most important thing for the devs should be: Cutting loading screens via shortcut-transition.
I also see various forum threads about this issue.

Anyway I know there are some fixes that you can make in the unity engine to cut down a lot of loading times with just a few clicks. These type of problems should be a priority.
--
“Progress isn't made by early risers. It's made by
lazy men trying to find easier ways to do something.” ― Robert Heinlein
Couchpotato is offline

Couchpotato

Couchpotato's Avatar
Lazy Layabout

#47

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 21,342
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 03:29
Yes, I remember talk about a bug in Unity causing some sort of network call during loading, which would then hang for ages waiting for a response. I do wonder if there's still some funny business going on - the differences in loading performance just don't seem to line up with huge differences in hardware.
--
"Where can the horizon lie, when a nation hides its organic minds in a cellar, dark and grim? They must be very dim." David Bowie, All the Madmen (1970)
Ripper is offline

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela

#48

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8,616
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 03:47
BG3 will be a mobile card game co-developed by EA and Bethesda.

There. One sentence and I managed to piss off almost everyone.
--
_______________
Love old text based RPGs? MUDs? Try Shadows of Kalendale:
https://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14727
Caddy is offline

Caddy

Caddy's Avatar
Broken Screwdriver
Original Sin Donor

#49

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 2,108
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 04:05
Originally Posted by Caddy View Post
BG3 will be a mobile card game co-developed by EA and Bethesda.

There. One sentence and I managed to piss off almost everyone.
Yep that sounds like something EA would do.

You only omitted you know it's what we really want despite complaining.
--
“Progress isn't made by early risers. It's made by
lazy men trying to find easier ways to do something.” ― Robert Heinlein
Couchpotato is offline

Couchpotato

Couchpotato's Avatar
Lazy Layabout

#50

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 21,342
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
+1:

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 04:31
Originally Posted by Caddy View Post
BG3 will be a mobile card game co-developed by EA and Bethesda.

THIS IS AN OUTRAGE!!


--
"Where can the horizon lie, when a nation hides its organic minds in a cellar, dark and grim? They must be very dim." David Bowie, All the Madmen (1970)
Ripper is offline

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela

#51

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8,616
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 07:33
I started hearing "Quit playing games with my heart" (Backstreet boys) in my head when I read the topic of this newspost. Even after treading through the thread the damn song is still playing inside my skull.

When I think about it though, why Baldurs Gate 3? If just to cash in in the name then fine, but the story is finished so I hope they don't try to build on it in some convoluted way.

Another proper DnD game set in FR though? I'll take it. Don't know about the rulsesets except I wouldn't want it to be an early version, Baldurs Gate is pretty pale when in comes to character building compared to NwN or Kingmaker…
TomRon is offline

TomRon

TomRon's Avatar
SasqWatch
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin Donor

#52

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,841
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 07:48
The original developer Bioware is still in production with large studios. Just shows how bad their last few singlepayer "RPG"s have been that no one is even bothering to mention them even as a joke.
kangapoo is offline

kangapoo

Traveler

#53

Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 10:13
Originally Posted by TomRon View Post
Another proper DnD game set in FR though? I'll take it.
Guys, I have a radical new idea, just hear me out please!

Okay we got the FR settings with dozens of countries and regions, and hundreds of cities, right.

So I thought to myself how about a game, wait for it, set in Neverwinter and its vicinity, huh?
MAHak is offline

MAHak

Traveler

#54

Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 11:50
I always thought a new forgotten realms game ought to be set in Waterdeep. I guess that won't happen.
Silver is offline

Silver

Silver's Avatar
Spaceman
RPGWatch Team

#55

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 7,093
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 11:57
Originally Posted by TomRon View Post
I started hearing "Quit playing games with my heart" (Backstreet boys) in my head when I read the topic of this newspost. Even after treading through the thread the damn song is still playing inside my skull.

When I think about it though, why Baldurs Gate 3? If just to cash in in the name then fine, but the story is finished so I hope they don't try to build on it in some convoluted way.

Another proper DnD game set in FR though? I'll take it. Don't know about the rulsesets except I wouldn't want it to be an early version, Baldurs Gate is pretty pale when in comes to character building compared to NwN or Kingmaker…
I think it is really just about the value of the name. I know I'd rather release an RPG called Baldur's Gate 3, than Sword Coast Legends, or similar. Beyond the name, I'd actually hope for as little connection to the original saga as possible, as trying to extend a finished story seems likely to be forced and clunky.
--
"Where can the horizon lie, when a nation hides its organic minds in a cellar, dark and grim? They must be very dim." David Bowie, All the Madmen (1970)
Ripper is offline

Ripper

Ripper's Avatar
Ngikufisela iwela

#56

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8,616
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 12:36
Originally Posted by Couchpotato View Post
I'm using a HD/SSD Hybrid drive Fluent.




The load times get worse the longer you play. Sounds like a memory leak.

Pathfinder is not the only game as most Unity RPGs have this problem.

Also various sites have talked about this problem and concluded it's due to coding.

This sums up Pathfinder: KingMaker.
Repeat for as long as you play.
Hybrids won't help that much, they have a small SSD area (8GB here) where the 'most used' content is stored (typically Windows files, some game files, etc), the rest is basically a normal HD.
wolfing is offline

wolfing

wolfing's Avatar
Dalek SasqWatch

#57

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tardis
Posts: 5,645
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 14:17
Originally Posted by Couchpotato View Post
I seem to be the unlucky one with every Unity RPG game released. The small percentage that gets, and still has longer load times & leaks. It freaking sucks I tell ya.
It's not luck or a mystery, you said it yourself in your previous post. You're not using an SSD, that's your problem. The HDD/SSD "hybrid" drives aren't much better than an actual HDD. They're nothing at all like an SSD, and there's a world of difference there.

Here are CrystalDiskMark results for the FireCuda 3.5" SSHD and a Samsung 970 Evo SSD:

FireCuda: https://hddmag.com/wp-content/upload…ds-300x273.jpg
Samsung 970 Evo: http://www.cdrlabs.com/images/storie…70-EVO-CDM.png

Those results are literally night & day.

Anyway, I've played every major Unity RPG, and never had noticeably bad loading times in any of them that I recall. But I also haven't used any disks other than SSDs for 7-8 years now, which covers all those RPGs.
Last edited by Stingray; October 8th, 2018 at 14:42.
Stingray is offline

Stingray

SasqWatch
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#58

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 15:15
I don't recall ever have super long load times with a Unity engine game, but it's still a mediocre engine imo.

Unity uses way too much resources for producing such average looking visuals.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch
Original Sin Donor

#59

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 26,830
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)

Default 

October 8th, 2018, 15:56
Originally Posted by vidder View Post
Why not the guys from Pathfinder: Kingmaker? The engine could be used 1:1. "Just" implement the new rule set for 5e and maybe hire better writers: done.
Hoho, what a dreamer! When is writing ever a priority for a big studio? Though maybe the problem isn't spending the money on writers, but who they choose for Narrative Designer.

And what on earth is the point of a hybrid HD/SSD?? Doesn't it totally defeat the purpose of upgrading to SSD?
--
contributed to: Age of Decadence | Dead State | Dungeon Rats | Battle Brothers | Fell Seal | Stygian
working on: Colony Ship RPG | Encased | ATOM RPG | Realms Beyond
screeg is offline

screeg

screeg's Avatar
floating head
RPGWatch Donor

#60

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 2,061
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Baldur's Gate 3 - In Development ?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:18.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by DragonByte Security (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright by RPGWatch