Eidolons - a hardcore roguelike rpg, looking for testers!

EiDemiurge

Traveler
Hail friends, I am Alex, a warm greeting from Siberia to you ;)
Following a friend’s advice, I am finally posting here! (Mostly because I am now gathering people for the closed-beta, you can subscribe here via google groups - http://eidolons-moe.blogspot.ru/2018/05/announcing-closed-beta.html)

So, I’m a solo dev who’s been working a bit against the common advice and trying to make a real rpg all by myself and without even using a game engine… Well, after seven years of inevitable bumps and clogs, I think I’m finally close! Let me present you my work…

“Eidolons: Mists of Ersidris” is an epic roguelike rpg set in a dark fantasy world. It has turn-based (ATB)combat, tile-based dungeons, real-time exploration (with pause) and global map adventuring.

Now, the game is *dark*, so you better turn off the light and toggle the theme here :)

uther2.gif

The game is also hardcore, crazy-deep, somewhat oldschool, with a dnd'esque feel. I guess it is rather niche, many people asked me why not simplify it… But one can only really do well things that one loves, I suppose. So, a game for true aficionados of the genre :)
You will find a thorough description here (I also keep my devlog there):
https://eidemiurge.itch.io/eidolons

Some screenshots:

5.jpg

6.jpg

java_2018_04_27_12_31_22_18.jpg

java_2018_04_27_21_03_55_22.jpg

Small gifs (sorry, I'm bad at gif-making…)
fst.gif

rad45.gif

In “Eidolons”, there are many unique/experimental systems, expanding the ideas of Attack of Opportunity, Sneak Attack, and also introducing super-realistic visibility and information systems.
All of those rules and system follow the principle of gritty realism - wounds, bleeding, exhaustion, panic (auto-retreat) and confusion (random actions) are all a part of the experience :)