NWN2 Attribute questions about companions.

Neverwinter Nights 2

Acleacius

SasqWatch
I looked in the Manual didn't really find what I am looking for, seems very similar and vague like the Chargen info.

The two I am having a little trouble with are Paladin and Monk.
Why are Charisma and Wisdom important to a Pally, which should I be concentrating on.
Secondly what effect does Wisdom have for a Monk and is it the most important?

Thanks. :)

Those attributes usually affect their spellcasting, but I'm not an expert with either of those classes, only having played each once!!

For Paladins it is Charisma all the way ... but WIS does have to be reasonably high (trying to recall why offhand and failing ... ) But *never* touch it once you start. STR and CHA *only* should be boosted as part of levelling.

Wisdom should be 14 in order to allow the paladin to cast 4th level Paladin spells.

Charisma determines the effectiveness of most of the paladins abilities and also provides a bonus to the paladins savings throws. (normally should be around 16-18 to begin with)

Strength is obviously important for melee effectiveness. (should be around 16 to begin with)

Monks get their WIS modifier added to their AC, and WIS also affects some of their abilities. I generally just put it at 14 at start and leave it be.

Wisdom should be 14 in order to allow the paladin to cast 4th level Paladin spells.
Thanks for reminding me ... I'm sure I'll forget by the next time I'm asked ;)

Thanks for all the answers. :)

Does Wisdom or Charisma determine how many spells a Pally gets, in the same way Int/Wizzy and Cha/Sorc work?

So Widsom is an AC modifier in conjunction with Dex, intresting.
Some reason I keep thinking it had a effect on the power of attcks or something, though I have never played a Pally or Monk.