Obsidian Entertainment - Josh Sawyer Taking a Break

Silver

Spaceman
Staff Member
@PCGamesN Josh Sawyer of Obsidian Entertainment is taking a break from game directing for awhile after necessary patching of Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire has been completed. You can read his reasons at his blog here.

Sawyer revealed the news on his website, in response to a fan asking if the rumour was true about him stepping down due to burnout. He confirmed that he will be stepping away from directing games, and will not be helming any expansions for Deadfire. “I’m now in my 19th year in the industry and I’ve been working on Pillars I & II for about 6 years,” he says. “I’m going to be on Deadfire (not the DLCs) until we’re done patching and improving it, but after that I’m taking a break from directing for a while.”

[...]
Thanks Farflame!

More information.

Nothing new here everyone, or a reason to panic.:biggrin:

Just watch his Reboot Develop 2018 presentation where he talks about his career.

Basically the man is tired and burnt out over crunch time in the industry.

And even after that selfimposed crunch he didn't manage to reach stellar nor cult status like, dunno, Kojima? Okay, codex excluded, they're always excited over Sawyer's projects.

He should retire completely.

I wish him good luck in his future endeavours. Not really surprising that he wants to take a break and change focus after working on the same stuff for all those years.

Yeah, fair play to the bloke. I'm sure it's been hard work, and he's done his best. There's virtually no chance of pleasing the whole RPG community.

he didn't manage to reach stellar nor cult status like, dunno, Kojima? Okay, codex excluded, they're always excited over Sawyer's projects.