Jeff Vogel - Kickstarter Next Week

Silver

Spaceman
Staff Member
Jeff Vogel has announced on Twitter that his Kickstarter for a new game series will start next week.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"> I (and several hardworking artists) have been scrambling like mad for the last two months to prepare a Kickstarter for our next game series. It's a big new thing for us, and I am terrified. We'll activate it next week. #indiedev

— Jeff Vogel (@spiderwebsoft) May 22, 2018[/quote]

More information.

avernum battle royale :lol:
anyway i hope its on new engine whatever he's doing

Here's to a new game engine and a truly new game series. Even the lure of nostalgia isn't enough to make me buy Spiderweb games anymore. I'm not giving a dime to another round of generic fantasy and the same tile graphics I've been staring at for 20 years. Hopefully a kickstarter means we're getting a project with a little ambition this time.

I think i'll probably back this one even though I haven't yet had time to play his games. If he offers a tier that offer the other recent games I might even go with that one. I think I only own two of them and started one on android but it was difficult to play on a tablet.

Considering his comment about having artists close at hand, I'm expecting at the very least a revamped policy on their game assets, if not an entirely new engine. May the pitch be sensible and strong.

Yeah it sounds promising. I look forward to seeing his campaign.

Every time I tried some of his games I was ultimately repelled by UI and graphics. Particularly the journal and the map always annoyed me to no end. So if that finally improves I might give it a chance. However, it's still more appealing than all those ugly retro pixel graphics, so popular among indie devs nowadays, that I can't stand unless they were actually made in early 90s.