Baldur's Gate EET - is it any good?

Ivanwah

Keeper of the Watch
I know the main point of the original Trilogy mod was to recreate BG1 in BG2's engine, and now that EEs share the same engine it's pointless. But I'm more interested in the whole "one big, connected adventure thing". Has anyone tried it? Is it any good, or am I better off playing it without the mod?

Huh. No clue, but the idea is interesting. If you check it out let us know how it is, eh? :)

Note - Playing the basic EE versions right through is very good. You can't explore BG 1 & 2 as one huge map, but all the functions of importing characters in 2 work well. Don't forget Siege of Dragonspear to fill in the middle parts. :)

Well, I'm going to try it over weekend, but I'm no BG expert, and I played it last some 5 or 6 years ago. I bought EEs but never got to play them properly. Also, I never bothered with modding originals beside a basic BG Trilogy installation.

I have to admit I'm a little overwhelmed by some additional options it provides, like IWD and even some poarts of IWD2 incorporated into the world (if I understood that part correctly), and some other story mods. On one hand, I would like something as close to vanilla as possible, but on the other hand, I saw an image of a map of all areas from all games and mods that can be installed and it's HUUUUUUGEEEE. I love that too. But I'm concerned about potential bugs and glitches and even more about balancing so many parts (mainly XP balance).

Also, if someone knows any essential mods for EEs, let me know.

Well, I'm going to try it over weekend, but I'm no BG expert, and I played it last some 5 or 6 years ago. I bought EEs but never got to play them properly. Also, I never bothered with modding originals beside a basic BG Trilogy installation.