X3 terran conflic questions

Fnord

SasqWatch
There seem to be a few X-players here, so instead of registering on another forum just to ask these questions, I'll ask them here. I'm relatively new to the X-series as a whole (I have played X1 a bit in the past, and also dipped my toes in X2).

Anyway, I'm playing as a humble trader, and I've sold my scout ship to be able to afford to buy goods to sell. I've been able to amass just over ½million credits, but running back & forth to trade is getting a bit tedious, and my ship (even with all the speed upgrades) is not fast enough to do any missions, nor does it have any guns. As I don't want to work myself into a corner (like I did in X1, where I ended up with not enough money for it to be worth continuing), I'll ask here.

At this point, what would you recommend that I do? Should I start to look into building industries (the cheapest ones are in the mid 300 000's), or is there anything else that you would recommend that I do?

Naming the thread "questions" in case I have more questions in the future ;)

Oh! Sorry I didn't see this earlier.

Half a million is a pretty good hunk. How much exploration have you done? Have you gotten a jump drive yet? That makes trading go a LOT faster, as does a docking computer.

There are lots of ways you can go. You could buy a station but I don't think you would have the money to feed it the raw materials it would need. However, you might just barely have enough money to do a "Build a Station" mission if you're lucky enough to find one for a wheat factory or some such. You can double your money fast with one of those.