|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » AC Odyssey tips, hints and impressions

Default AC Odyssey tips, hints and impressions

October 26th, 2018, 17:09
IMO it's better to call everything a romance then using meaningless "immersive sim" whatnot.
--
Toka Koka
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#101

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 19,238
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)

Default 

October 26th, 2018, 18:12
Originally Posted by lostforever View Post
I am playing it in exploration mode and happy with its implementation. It doesn't take you for an idiot and its fun to locate places based on the quest descriptions (see images below). After few hours you will spot a pattern between the quest text and how the quest objectives are located so it becomes easy to find these things but I think of this as huge positive of quest design.

However, once you are close (few meters) to the quest objectives you get hint and you have *option* of using your eagle to further pinpoint the quest objective. Then the quest marker shows up. So if its an NPC and you locate him using the eagle then the quest marker will follow him around.
So, the only difference really is that you don't have an objective marker on your screen until you get close enough to pinpoint it, right? Is it just for the main objective? I assume you still have all the other icons on your screen after you climb up and scan an area.

Otherwise, It doesn't sound drastically different from the older games.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch
Original Sin Donor

#102

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 25,353
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)

Default 

October 26th, 2018, 18:30
Not quite. Once you come close to the quest target you have to use your eagle to mark it. However, you still don't have to use the eagle and can still pinpoint the quest target yourself. An example? You need to free a man inside a fort, somewhere let's say east from the questgiver. Go east, find the fort, on a message "target nearby" don't use eagle, explore the fort completely and you'll spot a cage somewhere with a prisoner inside, free the prisoner, escort to safety, quest solved.

Note than in some cases the eagle can't help you. When you're hinted there is a cultist clue nearby (and you know that because someone told you or you've read it otherwise no hint on screen) the eagle can't possibly know where exactly to look for, the poor thing is as illiterate as dubs loving audience.
Thus you need to explore the area thoroughly yourself (basically reread the clue if you forgot what are you looking for, for example you need to buy a specific item from a blacksmith).

You don't have any icons anywhere unless you want to. Even if you're not using exploration mode, you can disable all icons on the world map. All. Yes, all.
If you mean questgiver icons (plumbobs) in live world, yellow or black, then yes, you can always see those above questgivers' head. But wait, I think even that can be disabled, lemme check.

EDIT1:
The game is updating, seems there is some new patch, wait some more pls.

EDIT2:
For god's sakes the game doesn't want to spawn me radiant questgiver. Wait, I'll try to force it somehow and post pics.

EDIT3:
Seems the patch did something, I can't find a single random radiant questgiver on streets. Sorry.
Anyway, pics.

1. All things enabled, as I've finished everything it's not cluttered much:


2. All things disabled - I didn't use this preset:


3. Why I didn't use "The Disabled" preset? Well because of the warning. There are 4 HUD presets (all, light, minimum and disabled), but you can enable/disable things one by one as you please:
--
Toka Koka
Last edited by joxer; October 26th, 2018 at 19:19.
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#103

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 19,238
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)

Default 

November 1st, 2018, 15:54
A new patch will go live tomorrow. Patch notes contain spoilers so if you want to see them go here:
https://www.reddit.com/r/assassinscr…6_patch_notes/

I have to point a new feature I ought to criticize when I finally add my entry to "finished" thread and that's what every RPG with combat needs to have - a detailed character sheet with info on everything coming from attributes, skills and equipment. Originally you could see only armor, assassin, hunter and warrior damage and now you'll see this:


Some might say it's not needed but it is really because previously you couldn't know what really stacks and what's just a placebo.

Speedrunning (IGN&co) critics were whining the game is grindy. It is not grindy at all if you work on at least some sidequests, but because of those whiners, Ubisoft added two changes:
- The economic advantages earned with the Mercenary Tiers rewards has been increased from 20% to 50%.
- The costs to upgrade gear has been decreased.
These changes will not affect normal players who don't fastrun of course, you'll swim in money and components looted in sidequests.

EDIT:
Erm, seems the patch on PC is already happening, uPlay is updating my game.
--
Toka Koka
Last edited by joxer; November 1st, 2018 at 16:13.
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#104

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 19,238
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)

Default 

November 1st, 2018, 16:47
Joxer, do you if there is away to hot key the skills on the second bar directly?

Right now you have to press ` to swap to the second bar and then press 1 - 4. Is there anyway to assign 5 - 9 for these skills directly?
lostforever is offline

lostforever

lostforever's Avatar
SasqWatch

#105

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,092
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)

Default 

November 1st, 2018, 16:52
Originally Posted by lostforever View Post
Joxer, do you if there is away to hot key the skills on the second bar directly?

Right now you have to press ` to swap to the second bar and then press 1 - 4. Is there anyway to assign 5 - 9 for these skills directly?
I didn’t even know there was a second bar. I thought I was limited to 4 skills and was cursing controller design. Lol.

Have to check this out when I get home tonight. Really enjoying the game though. Will post some more thoughts on game and patch later.
sakichop is offline

sakichop

SasqWatch
Original Sin Donor

#106

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,569
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)

Default 

November 1st, 2018, 16:58
Originally Posted by sakichop View Post
I didn’t even know there was a second bar. I thought I was limited to 4 skills and was cursing controller design. Lol.

Have to check this out when I get home tonight. Really enjoying the game though. Will post some more thoughts on game and patch later.
Hehe, it only unlocks at level 15 I think.

I am level 30 now and spent about 50 hours and having so much fun. Its the smoothness and variety of the of the combat which is so much fun. Right now I am jack of all trades in that I am assassins, warrior and hunter depending on the enemies and I can't wait to kill more

The story is nice but I just don't like some of the plot holes/unbelievableness in the story annoys me a little.
lostforever is offline

lostforever

lostforever's Avatar
SasqWatch

#107

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,092
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)

Default 

November 1st, 2018, 17:01
No, you can't change the 4+4 crap. It's the core design caused by game being developed for inferior hardware first. PC version is just a port.
The game uses Bioware's ME4 retarded scheme where on PC you can't have normal hotkeys for everything unlocked coz mushrooms idiocy. The difference is while playing AC Odyssey with k+m you can get all achievements on PC, in ME4 you can't get them all unless you drool on mushrooms.

Initially can be frustrating, but eventually you'll realize all you need to map are top tree skills, Shield Breaker and Second Chance (or Wind, forgot the name of healing "spell"). Overpower and arrow explosion do not need mapping as are triggered with R, while assassination crit is mapped by default as hold F.
I guess they were aware of stupid mushrooms limitations thus they made many earlygame very nice skills pretty much useless later. Take Sparta Kick for example. Earlygame can't imagine to play without, postmidgame can't remember I've needed/used it anywhere at all.

You are jack of all trades, but you can't be master of everything. It's not possible to unlock all existing skills even with all bonus points from tombs, but make sure to grab the top skill in each tree.
--
Toka Koka
Last edited by joxer; November 1st, 2018 at 17:16.
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
RPGWatch Donor
Original Sin 1 & 2 Donor

#108

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 19,238
Mentioned: 93 Post(s)

Default 

November 1st, 2018, 17:20
Ah shame you can't hot key them. I guess I will have to try a keyboard macro of some sort.
lostforever is offline

lostforever

lostforever's Avatar
SasqWatch

#109

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,092
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)

Default 

November 3rd, 2018, 16:31
Plans for DLC stuff and free quests: https://www.gamespot.com/articles/as…/1100-6462983/
--
The very powerful and the very stupid have one thing in common: instead of altering their views to fit the facts, they alter the facts to fit their views….
-- Doctor Who in "Face of Evil"
Zloth is offline

Zloth

Zloth's Avatar
I smell a… wumpus!?

#110

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 5,779
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » AC Odyssey tips, hints and impressions
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:38.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright by RPGWatch