X-Com 2, War of the Chosen

Drithius

Magic & Loss
This is my first time playing X-Com 2 (played the original), and I was feeling a bit overwhelmed with all the multilayered mechanics of the game. Does anyone have a good guide handy for this game? I'm about to restart since I felt I was already screwing up pretty badly 8 missions into my prior playthrough.

This is my first time playing X-Com 2 (played the original), and I was feeling a bit overwhelmed with all the multilayered mechanics of the game. Does anyone have a good guide handy for this game? I'm about to restart since I felt I was already screwing up pretty badly 8 missions into my prior playthrough.

I would recommend turning all DLC off and playing on easiest mode first if you're having difficulty. Do not install mods unless they're just quality of life mods either.

The vanilla game is fun on its own and a good experience. The DLC all add tons of options and make it harder to understand the base game. They are fun, but not if you are struggling.

Take your time, and proceed carefully, at least in the missions where time isn't a factor. For the most part, you can lure out the opposition and often catch them in cross fire situations. I've not played the expansion yet, but the base game seemed quite easy to me.

Simcopters1 is the streamer to follow. His streamers are methodical : he breaks down gameplay mechanics for his viewers to ingest.
They are also interactive, meaning that he answers questions.

A good fit for players who struggle with basic gameplay.

I got WotC a couple of weeks back and yow, it adds a LOT to the game! I don't think it quite makes the game XCOM 3 but it isn't far off.