Gloomhaven - First Look

HiddenX

The Elder Spy
Staff Member
Original Sin Donor
Original Sin 2 Donor
lionheartx10 checked out Gloomhaven:

TACTICAL RPG DIGITAL BOARDGAME ADVENTURE! Gloomhaven First Look Gameplay

Thanks to Asmodee Digital for Sponsoring This Video! When Boardgames come to Life! After 2 Years of Early Access, Gloomhaven has reached its full released! Based on the Epic Boardgame of the same name, Gloomhaven is a Tactical Turn-Based RPG Adventure, available for adventuring Solo, or Via Online Coop!
More information.

It's really good and I am not good at it yet;)

So it's finally and truly released after all those years of delays?:biggrin:

I got it as it looks like something that I would like. I had to retry the first scenario 4 times to get it. :D

I think I may need to go through all the tutorials.

The game is quite unforgiving.

What I am uncertain about is whether it's OK to lose and retry or whether a restart is the better option?

Anyone know?

The first scenario of the campaign is famously difficult, in the board game for years, as it is not a tutorial or easy scenario. That often prompts new players to post on board game geek dot com to ask for tips and probably many do not post and just learn from what didn't work the first (or fourth) time.

One tip is to act late in round 1 (choose a very high number initiative card first for each character) so you let the guards move towards you without being able to reach you to attack, then you can move up and attack them near the end of round 1 and attack again early in round 2 without taking any damage until later in round 2 only by those who survive.

I don't think it matters whether you restart or lose and retry. I have not tried the computer game's campaign (I finished 3 full play-throughs of the campaign using the board game a couple of years ago) as I am still working my way through the fun guildmaster mode, but I suspect that lose and retry would work best just as a guess.