Divinity 2 Overpowered gear in the early game?

Rockstronaut

Watcher
I just started playing the steam version of DKS and I found an ax that adds 40 magic damage in my first dungeon, followed by a mace in the small cave near the necromancer that adds 40 physical. Dual-wielded, my level 6 char is doing ~100 points of damage on every attack and basically annihilating everything without breaking a sweat. This is on 'Hard' difficultly.

This seems silly to me and I'm wondering if anyone else is experiencing this. Maybe the developers meant +4 damage and made a typo?

It's possible that it's a bugged item, or should I say a group of bugged items.

Might be worth bringing it up on the Larian forums because very few items (Even in D2:ED) were that powerful.

Thanks, I posted over in their forums. Hopefully this isn't an indication that DKS suffers from the same cavalier approach to balancing that afflicted Div 1 (anyone remember the Level 99 scorpion traps?)…because otherwise this game just oozes charm and polish.

I've found some crazy sets so far, one of which has me a bit OP atm. Overall, I'm glad they revamped the itemization, many of the random exploration areas are worth finding now.

@Rockstronaut, were those weapons found in chests, or dropped by enemies? Also, are items in chests randomized or fixed in DKS? Just curious because this is probably the next crpg I'm going to purchase.

@Rockstronaut, were those weapons found in chests, or dropped by enemies? Also, are items in chests randomized or fixed in DKS? Just curious because this is probably the next crpg I'm going to purchase.