Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
Box Art

Kivi's Underworld - Review @ xpd8

by Dhruin, 2009-01-19 21:13:29

A site called xpd8 has a review of Soldak's indie Kivi's Underworld:

The game has quite a bit of depth in it. It has 30 levels in it, and each with it's own quests, some super secrets (hey, I've only found 5 so far in one play though the game so yeah, they're hard to find.) There are 20 other different characters to either find or unlock as well. Some I found pretty fun to play like the blademaster and the enchanter who can make her own powerups, some that didn't seem like they would be fun to play like the merchant who had swipe, where you could hit more than 1 monster, the thief (stealth and avoid traps which to me weren't quite as useful), etc. Some characters like the apothecary, have some cool talents like the potion throw is actually a pretty good weapon. I was able to throw a potion into a monster trap, and then run into it and kill most of the monsters quickly, getting many killing sprees. The more points you get for each level, they better your score at the end, and the better your score, you're awarded a trophy. A bronze earns you 1 skill point, silver 2 and gold 3. Each permanent skill up cost increasingly more (1, then 2, then 3, etc), so the better you do in a level, the more points you get, the more skill points you get in the end. You can address these in a number of different things, like increasing your active skill, your passive skill, increasing your health or mana or increasing your offense or defense. Some of these really help later on when more hitpoints or mana comes in handy, or you want to increase your hitting power or not get hit so hard. Depending on which characters you like, and how you decide to play will decide how you want to spend the points. I spent them pretty evenly, with slightly less going in mana (1 less) and more in health (1 more). The rest are the same for me.

Information about

Kivi's Underworld

SP/MP: Unknown
Setting: Fantasy
Genre: Hack & Slash
Platform: PC
Release: Released