Getting a PS3...

We bought a new PS2 for my younger son for his upcoming birthday ... maybe I should start a new thread to talk about that since I'm new to the whole PS2 world ...

The PS2 is probably the best system you can buy new for games. There's just such a huge library, with very, very, very many solid titles to choose from.

If you like cars, get Gran Turismo 4. I nearly burned up my PS2 playing my copy. I spent untold hours upon hours, to the point that my garage had over 300 cars, and I had some 70% done. And mostly all I did was challenge series at a forum I moderate at.

Onimusha is similar to earlier Resident Evils, but more action oriented. It's also fun as all get out, though again, I suck at it.

Wizardry and HOMM are good as well; old school in the extreme. HOMM is basically King's Bounty (the original!) with the names changed up.

I have some 60 PS2 games, most of which range from decent to outstanding.

The only downside to the PS2 is finding a lot of those titles now. Most places like Gamestop, etc, don't carry many PS2 titles anymore. I've purchased most of my PS2 games off Ebay.

The only downside to the PS2 is finding a lot of those titles now. Most places like Gamestop, etc, don't carry many PS2 titles anymore. I've purchased most of my PS2 games off Ebay.

That is why I love using Goozex. His primary desire is Kingdom Hearts (he and a few friends are huge fans), so I have already gotten that, and am waiting on KHII and the Chain of Memories remake.

In addition, I have a huge Sonic Chronicles, FF XII, and Dragon Quest VIII. And just requested Gran Turismo and will have it prior to his birthday ... and all of it for less than I got trading out my spare copy of Divinity II ... :)

Well, since we're going, any suggestions? I know both kids will use it heavily, so most genres are fair game - but they have to be T or below.

I bought a PS2 for the Metal Gear Solid series and Final Fantasy, so those are the ones I have played.