Might and Magic VI - VIII

codename47

Watcher
Hello.

I am totally new to the Might and Magic series (well, if you don't count Heroes of Might and Magic II & III).

I wanted to ask whether it is possible to import the characters from VI to VII, and from VII to VIII?

I don't really like to play games older than 1996-1998. Not because of the graphics, but because some of the games have gameplay I really don't like (Like Wizardry VI, I couldn't get into it. I might try Wizardry VII again, once I read enough about it and don't rush into the rat ninjas again)

So I don't think I'd be interested in Worlds of Xeen, or anything before Might and Magic VI.

Nope, no imports. MM6 has a HUGE world with tons to do. MM7 is a little smaller but adds a great deal of character development depth (making it the best of the series, IMO). MM8 is smaller yet, makes the "recruit your party" mistake, and has a serious balance issue, although it's still a decent game.

World of Xeen is actually surprisingly playable by today's standards. More so than Might & Magic 6-8, in my opinion (this come from someone who played WoX for the first time last year, but played Might & Magic 6 near its release, and who has no nostalgic ties to pre Win95-era CRPGs)

Might & Magic 6-8 have some story ties, but they are not directly linked together, so you don't even have to play them in order unless you want to. M&M 6 does have some annoying design decisions, and because of this I don't really like that game. 7 is still far from perfect, in fact it is rather annoying at many points, but it does also have a lot going for it. 8 is the least annoying of the lot, but on the other hand it is a bit too short & easy for its own good.

World of Xeen is actually surprisingly playable by today's standards. More so than Might & Magic 6-8, in my opinion (this come from someone who played WoX for the first time last year, but played Might & Magic 6 near its release, and who has no nostalgic ties to pre Win95-era CRPGs)