BioWare - Making an Emotional Investment

Dhruin

SasqWatch
Jos Hendriks writes for the BioBlog about making an emotional connection with games:
Perhaps this only grew on me recently, or perhaps it has been present ever since I started playing videogames. Quite possibly this is different for each and every person out there who enjoys to pick up the occasional game, but I recently became consciously aware that games have slowly become harder for me to enjoy.
Part of this is because I make games for a living. Being busy working on stuff at the various companies I’ve worked at made me go from playing a game to analyzing it more than anything. Instead of seeing that huge spaceship disintegrate with an awesome explosion I see particle effects, interpolation (better known as keyframing), and animation tracks come together well*. But with good games that immerse me and that I want to play that is not the main reason for me to find real enjoyment in games.
More information.

Only read the summary. ;)

I have noticed that I got harder to please as well. Part of that is that as time passes, I've seen more and more cool stuff implemented in games. As a really obvious example: the first time I played Doom, I was amazed at the way you could walk through a 3D space. The camera bobbed up and down as you walked and even the floors and ceilings were textured! Of course, nowadays those little things don't blow me away so much anymore. Another good example was Grand Theft Auto III: an entire city you can explore! That's so cool! Well, now I've been spoiled after open world after another.

That's just the technical standpoint, though. But maybe it works the same with game mechanics, to a lesser degree. Are adventure games as cool as when I played Leisure Suit Larry and Space Quest with friends after school? Definitely not. Let's be careful here, though. Nostalgia can make everything look better than it really was. ;)