|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Deep Shadows Games » The Precursors » Gamersgate Version Audio Problems

Default Gamersgate Version Audio Problems

January 23rd, 2011, 23:59
Originally from Deep Shadow forums.
This is just recap of old thread. Go to the next post, if you just need solution.

Originally Posted by unholydog
I have the english version off gamersgate and the audio for items like creatures, guns etc cannot be heard. All I can hear is the music and the weapons reloading. This makes the game diffcult to play as I cannot hear any enemies / creatures attacking me.

Has anyone else got this problem and how can it be solved.

Thanks in advance

Originally Posted by player1
Having same problem too.

P.S.
This does not affect those playing Russian version.
Right?

Originally Posted by unholydog
As far as I am aware reading these forums the Russian version is fine which is somewhat confusing

Originally Posted by badmofo
The Russian version of the sound file is 1.3GB, and the "English" version is 438MB, which is a huge difference.

There are a lot of ambient sounds in these games and often with Russian voices in them, so I'm guessing they have just removed anything that might include a Russian voice, and in the process messed up the sounds system.

I think that copying the Russian version over would solve the problem - obviously you'd lose the crappy English voiceovers in the cut scenes but that's a win IMO! I can extract the English VO's and send them to Wesp for his patch to fix that problem anyway.

I'll see if I can upload the Russian version somewhere so someone can test my theory.

Originally Posted by badmofo
OK give this a go:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=Y9AC6BQZ

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=PMNALDJX

I had to split the archive coz of the 1GB upload maximum, I use WinRAR to decompress.

Copy both files included into your 'Precursors\packages' directory (Note that there's also a file called main.fat included, that is required too or you'll get errors)

I've tried it and it works fine, all of the ambient sounds can be heard again and it makes a huge difference. Hopefully it fixes the bug outs people have been experiencing.

Originally Posted by player1
Guess what?

Using those Russian files and grp unpacker, you can convert English version to have both Russian voiceovers and dubbed cutscenes in English.

1) First, use grp unpacker, you can find here in forums, to unpack all English grp files (very slow process). Unfortunatelly, you can't select to unpack just some files but need to do everything.

2) Then, from unpacked files copy only SOUNDS\CUTSCENES folder to your precursor folder (make SOUNDS folder in game installation folder, then copy CUTSCENES folder there)

3) At the end, replace English main.fat and gf_sounds.grp sound with those files from Russian version.

And that's it. Essentially, unpacked files are used by the game engine as an override, so they'll be used over packed files, if they are present.

Originally Posted by player1
Ok, here is full, English voiced, cutscene override:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=UN4SUOH7

It's packed with 7zip, so it should be resistant to time-zone issues.

With this, and Russian voice files, you should have fully voiced game, that is still understandable for non-Russian speakers.
^There was discussion here, were was concluded that game can't use files unpacked from grp archives, as an override, if their modification date is different then expected. And that can happen when using WinRar for distribution, since it doesn't properly preserve modification date of files, when sharing between different times zones. 7-zip, on the other hand, works great.


Feel free to add something, if I missed it, from old thread.
Last edited by player1; January 24th, 2011 at 19:27.
player1 is offline

player1

Watcher

#1

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 94

Default 

January 24th, 2011, 19:04
The fix, all in one place:
Originally Posted by redman5427
After watching this topic for the last week, I am now a bit confused on the steps to fix the sound problems in the gamergate version and am wondering if someone could summerize the steps again
thanks in advance

Originally Posted by player1
Ok, first get Russian audio from here:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=Y9AC6BQZ
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=PMNALDJX

Originally Posted by badmofo
I had to split the archive coz of the 1GB upload maximum, I use WinRAR to decompress.

Copy both files included into your 'Precursors\packages' directory (Note that there's also a file called main.fat included, that is required too or you'll get errors)

I've tried it and it works fine, all of the ambient sounds can be heard again and it makes a huge difference. Hopefully it fixes the bug outs people have been experiencing.

This will fix bug with audio dropouts, that happen with English version, plus make game more enjoyable since there will be voiceovers for all dialogs (in Russian), instead of silence.

But, since that also converts cutscenes to Russain, and they have no subtitles, story will be difficult to follow.

So, you also need this to override Russian voice-overs in cutscenes with those from English version:
http://www.moddb.com/games/the-precu…-for-cutscenes

mirrors:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=UN4SUOH7
http://depositfiles.com/files/flp9axhaq

Just unpack to game folder. It will make new SOUNDS folder with English cutscene voices.
Feel free to add something, if I missed it, from old thread.
Last edited by player1; January 24th, 2011 at 19:27.
player1 is offline

player1

Watcher

#2

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 94

Default 

February 12th, 2011, 00:38
I tried updating the sound files and go the following error message:

Data error in gf_sounds.grp. File is broken.

Any one have any idea?

FYI, I reloaded the download file to see if it was bad/corrupted and still go the same error message.

Further update, using the file prevents the game from starting, I get an error message.
Last edited by Grifman; February 12th, 2011 at 01:06.
Grifman is offline

Grifman

Watcher

#3

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 57

Default 

February 12th, 2011, 01:26
You need both gf_sounds.grp and main.fat
player1 is offline

player1

Watcher

#4

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 94

Default 

February 12th, 2011, 03:29
Originally Posted by player1 View Post
You need both gf_sounds.grp and main.fat
I have both of them. But I now see I get a message that say I need to start extraction from a previous volume. Is that what you mean? And what does that mean anyway? Thanks.

EDIT: Nevermind, did some googling, think I figured it out. Thanks!
Grifman is offline

Grifman

Watcher

#5

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 57

Default 

February 17th, 2011, 00:17
So just to confirm, would everyone say that the full recommended process for installing the GamersGate version and getting all the English Language audio-visual goodness is as follows….?

1. Purchase, download and install Precursors (Hurrah! At last!)
2. Backup up certain files (Precursors.exe, VELoader.dll, vital.dll, resource.qrc)
3. Install Official Russian 1.1 DVD Patch
4. Replace files with backed up versions
5. Download and install Russian sound package
6. Download and install English cutscene sound files
7. Download and install Wesp5's Unofficial 1.3 Translation Patch
8. Install NoFilmGrain and ATI Flicker Fix if required
9. Get lost in virtual universe and forget to eat, sleep and interact with real people.
doglikesparky is offline

doglikesparky

Traveler

#6

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8

Default 

February 17th, 2011, 10:52
Originally Posted by doglikesparky View Post
3. Install Official Russian 1.1 DVD Patch
4. Replace files with backed up versions
This will revert any engine related 1.1 changes. Better find another way to circumvent the protection than the crack included with the GG 1.0 version.

6. Download and install English cutscene sound files
That's not necessary anymore with my 1.3 patch…
Wesp5 is online now

Wesp5

Unofficial Patcher

#7

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 412

Default 

February 18th, 2011, 00:16
Originally Posted by Wesp5 View Post
This will revert any engine related 1.1 changes. Better find another way to circumvent the protection than the crack included with the GG 1.0 version.

That's not necessary anymore with my 1.3 patch…
Many thanks Wesp5, and thanks also for the great work you've put in to bringing this to us!

But hang on a minute… the Gamers Gate version actually uses a CRACK? As in an illegal hack to circumvent anti-piracy DRM?

I presume this must actually be a legal hack produced by Deep Shadows - or couldn't they be bothered to produce a non-DRM version and allowed GG to release it with some script kiddie's dodgy efforts embedded?

I wondered why the files needed to be backed up before installing the patch, as suggested elsewhere. I thought it might be a language issue or something.
doglikesparky is offline

doglikesparky

Traveler

#8

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8

Default 

February 18th, 2011, 10:14
Originally Posted by doglikesparky View Post
But hang on a minute… the Gamers Gate version actually uses a CRACK? As in an illegal hack to circumvent anti-piracy DRM?
Yes. They told me this was because Deep Shadows didn't provide GamersGate with an unprotected executable and obviously the Starforce DVD protection didn't work with the digital distributed version. As far as I know this will be fixed in the upcoming 1.1 patch.
Last edited by Wesp5; February 18th, 2011 at 10:35.
Wesp5 is online now

Wesp5

Unofficial Patcher

#9

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 412

Default 

February 18th, 2011, 10:34
This also explains why patch 1.1 was never used, since there is no "traditional" crack for it. There is some sort of keygen from pirated release, to make 1.1 work, but you can't really pack that with original English game and keep some credibility. Right?
player1 is offline

player1

Watcher

#10

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 94

Default 

February 18th, 2011, 10:36
Originally Posted by player1 View Post
There is some sort of keygen from pirated release, to make 1.1 work, but you can't really pack that with original English game and keep some credibility. Right?
Exactly. But I think they plan on using the same activation mechanism to work with the serial numbers of the GamersGate versions instead of the original Russian ones.
Wesp5 is online now

Wesp5

Unofficial Patcher

#11

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 412

Default 

February 18th, 2011, 10:41
Makes sense. It's digital distribution, anyway.


P.S.
Still, it is obvious that there was some fallout between GDI and Deep Shadows, which led to pretty much botched English release (of both DS games). I wonder what was it?
player1 is offline

player1

Watcher

#12

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 94

Default 

February 18th, 2011, 15:05
Originally Posted by player1 View Post
Still, it is obvious that there was some fallout between GDI and Deep Shadows, which led to pretty much botched English release (of both DS games). I wonder what was it?
I don't know. I guess the usual, the developers want more time and money to finish their game, the publishers are annoyed over endless delays and want to see results. Happens frequently!
Wesp5 is online now

Wesp5

Unofficial Patcher

#13

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 412

Default 

February 19th, 2011, 03:03
Originally Posted by Wesp5 View Post
Yes. They told me this was because Deep Shadows didn't provide GamersGate with an unprotected executable and obviously the Starforce DVD protection didn't work with the digital distributed version. As far as I know this will be fixed in the upcoming 1.1 patch.
So this upcoming 1.1 patch is a proper patch for the English version I've got from GG? And did I read somewhere that you are involved in this? And if so, do you know if it will be a definitive patch that will fix the bugs and executables, put all the Russian stuff back but also update the English content, to make it not be crap!

I'm just wondering if I should hold off properly starting to play until that's released. Got plenty of other games to keep me occupied but I've wanted to play this game since I saw the first inklings of it on Gamespot etc. The concept and screenshots really reminded me of Outcast, with a bit of Morrowind and Mass Effect thrown in, all of which I love.

Anyone remember Outcast?

http://www.gog.com/en/gamecard/outcast/

EDIT: I'm such a sucker for nostalgia. One look at those screenshots, and then discovering someone's produced a patch to up the original game's max rez from 512x384 (yes really) to full HD, and that was me a new customer of GOG spending $6 on a 10 year old game. They gave me 4 free games for joining too, including Beneath A Steel Sky and Lure Of The Temptress!

Outcast at full HD: http://a.imageshack.us/img521/9436/outcastfhd.jpg
Last edited by doglikesparky; February 19th, 2011 at 04:02. Reason: To spout forth joy at buying Outcast!
doglikesparky is offline

doglikesparky

Traveler

#14

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8

Default 

February 19th, 2011, 11:26
Originally Posted by doglikesparky View Post
So this upcoming 1.1 patch is a proper patch for the English version I've got from GG? And did I read somewhere that you are involved in this? And if so, do you know if it will be a definitive patch that will fix the bugs and executables, put all the Russian stuff back but also update the English content, to make it not be crap!
As far as I know this will be a proper patch including the official Russian 1.1 patch executables and my unofficial 1.3 patch translation. The Russian sound files will be offered as a seperate download, because they are quite big.
Wesp5 is online now

Wesp5

Unofficial Patcher

#15

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 412

Default 

February 19th, 2011, 18:38
Originally Posted by Wesp5 View Post
As far as I know this will be a proper patch including the official Russian 1.1 patch executables and my unofficial 1.3 patch translation. The Russian sound files will be offered as a seperate download, because they are quite big.
Thanks Wesp5. I think I'm going to hold off for a bit until that's released - I'm actually having a lot of fun playing Outcast again at a decent resolution
doglikesparky is offline

doglikesparky

Traveler

#16

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8

Default 

March 30th, 2011, 12:24
Hey, just registered to ask a query on this: I have the Beamdog version of the game, I tried installing the translation patch, but ended up with skipping / missing sounds.

I've downloaded the two archives for the sound packages, as suggested, but I noticed that there are two copies of the sounds.grp file, one with a "<—" sign after it. Do these two files need to be combined and, if so, what software would I require to do so?

I assume that, once these files are installed, i just reapply the translation patch to get the English cutscene voiceovers?

I didn't want to clutter the main thread area with another query, so I thought best to post here. Hope that's ok!
Praetus is offline

Praetus

Traveler

#17

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4

Default 

March 31st, 2011, 23:39
I think that sounds.grp is a split archive. Dl both and just use winrar and it should extract the entire file for you. then install the unofficial patch
vistarnh is offline

vistarnh

Watcher

#18

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 25

Default 

April 10th, 2011, 14:38
Originally Posted by Grifman View Post
I have both of them. But I now see I get a message that say I need to start extraction from a previous volume. Is that what you mean? And what does that mean anyway? Thanks.

EDIT: Nevermind, did some googling, think I figured it out. Thanks!
Hi,

Well I didn't figure it out. Do you mind posting what you did to get this to work?
I get the same "the crap is broken" message you posted.

And whoever put "u need both filez?". What the F dude?

You have files with the exact same names in both .rar files.
What happens when you extract to the same directory?
It overwrites it. So please explain in more detail what magical thing must be done for this be done the way you are thinking it in your head.
NerevarX is offline

NerevarX

Traveler

#19

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4

Default 

April 10th, 2011, 15:41
Originally Posted by NerevarX View Post
Hi,

Well I didn't figure it out. Do you mind posting what you did to get this to work?
I get the same "the crap is broken" message you posted.

And whoever put "u need both filez?". What the F dude?

You have files with the exact same names in both .rar files.
What happens when you extract to the same directory?
It overwrites it. So please explain in more detail what magical thing must be done for this be done the way you are thinking it in your head.
Like I said in the other thread I would help you if you weren't such a jerk. Here's a tip: learn how to use WinRar.
DoctorNarrative is offline

DoctorNarrative

DoctorNarrative's Avatar
Patroling Written Words

#20

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,825
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Deep Shadows Games » The Precursors » Gamersgate Version Audio Problems
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:11.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch