Skyrim - Released, Review Roundup #1

Here's more good info, well not really that good, but factual at least:

errrrr……….

Did you watch Mangg's live streams?

He was really emotionally attached to his horse, which died once being eaten by an ice wolf and a second time from jumping off a cliff. The guy was practically crying into his microphone.

Heh, my copy will probably not be in until the 18th at the earliest but I think I am going to shelve this for a month or two (ala Witcher 2, I started playing with patch 1.3)...

@Thrasher great stuff! (Love the uber Dragonslayer horse of death) keep them coming...

@CountChocula: I started one of them, but it was too boring. So many loading screens, that I gave up.

The other streams I tried were all kaputt.

My copy comes tomorrow (crossing my fingers that GameStop doesn't screw up again). Looking forward to creating my own crazy AI abuse situations, with liberal use of illusion magic . :D

ES never fails to deliver on this sort of silliness. :)

It should be relatively easy to play around in the console commands and, say, force 20 dragons to spawn nearby. (or an army of undead chickens)

I bring you PC screenshots posted by some Aussie players:

Comparing low, medium, high, and ultra (note that draw distances are customized to maximum and all are at 1080p resolution):

Low
Med
High
Ultra

While the differences between low, medium, and high are significant (particularly if you notice the foliage and distant texturing) I don't see much difference between high and ultra. The most noticeable variation between high and ultra appears to be the use of shadows. I might be missing something though.

Here's an assortment of some ultra setting images that do seem to indicate better textures and draw distances than on the consoles:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6040/6332164100_6e74f66560_o.jpg
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6214/6331461201_98741a47b7_o.jpg
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6106/6331465615_6579bd3b0a_o.jpg