Oldies Vs New Games

Which era would you describe as the era with most good titles?

• 1980-1989

Votes: 3 14.3%
  • 1990-1995

Votes: 6 28.6%
  • 1996-2001

Votes: 12 57.1%
  • 2002-2008

Votes: 4 19.0%

• Total voters

Mareus Durante

Watcher
Hello everyone. I am new here and I didn't know how to introduce myself so here is a thread to see how you people are breathing. I have been searching for a good game forum, with people who know a thing or two about games. Tried RPGCodex recently and although some of them really know their games, you can expect your ass to get flamed for using smileys or mistyping... so let's hope it's different here and that I will be able to have a coherent gaming discussion here.

Now to the thread...

I have been playing games since I was 4 years old and you could say that there are very few titles worth mentioning that I didn't play. However in the last few years I have been having trouble making myself play anything for very long. At first I thought the years have finally caught up with me and that I was starting to grow up. I tried playing games like Gothic 3, Titan Quest, Oblivion, Bioshock, Stalker, Heroes of Might and Magic V, Fear, ... Needless to say, not one of those titles did I finish.

Then one day i got myself NWN2. I started playing it and after a very long time I started to have fun again. Sure, it had issues. Sure, it was not good as Baldur's Gate. Sure, the 3D camera annoyed me sometimes, but it was old school game that had everything I missed in games like Oblivion. That made me wonder, was I really growing up or do new games barely hit the average. Are old games really better or is it just nostalgia?

Welcome to the Watch! I think you will find that this is a great place to discuss CRPGs with a bunch of very intelligent, well spoken people... (yes, that's a compliment for all of you Watch'ers out there ;) ).