Top 5 JRPGS for the PC

forgottenlor

Font of Useless Knowledge
Staff Member
Over the last two years I've played a few Jrpgs and have been pleasantly surprised. I'm just getting into and very much enjoying the Valkyria Chronicles, but also really enjoyed Trails of the Sky, Elminage:Gothic, and Final Fantasy 3. I was less fond of Recateer and the Last Remanent. I'm looking to eventually expand my JRPG catalogue, but am overwhelmed by the sheer number of Jrpgs now on steam. I figured I'd profit immensely if people could share their top 5.

So, I'm not sure I approached this topic the right way, and decided to list a number of possible titles I might be interested in. Could anyone recommend any of the following:

The Y's series. Is there anyone which is easily playable with K+m?
Tales of Zestria
Tales of Symphonia
Fairy Fencer F
Aragest series
Celestian Tales
Tales of Wuxia
Dynasty Warriors
Grandia 2 Has it aged well?
Disgea
Hyperdimension Neptunia

Forgottenlor, in order to answer your question a little better, I just started up Ys: The Oath in Felghana. It's KB+M friendly, but it takes some tweaking. It's not 100% smooth since the config menu likes to leave one of your mouse buttons locked up for the option of mouse movement (like in Diablo). But if you bind movement to WASD and attack/talk/OK to LMB with jump to space, it's not too bad. If I remember right, Ys I + II were playable with KB+M too, though a controller is much better for the Ys series. And by the way, Ys is a fun series. It doesn't have quite the depth of, say, Legend of Heroes, but it's great if you're in more of a twitchy, hack-and-slash mood. And they all have a really good soundtrack, especially the first one.