RPGamer - The First Law of JRPGs

Couchpotato

Part-Time News-bot
Since JRPGs are not well liked on the site I thought I would post a new article from RPGamer called, "The First Law of JRPGs". So read on my fellow watchers.

I'm no scientist, but I know the first law of thermodynamics states that energy cannot be created or destroyed, but is actually transformed from one form to another. Over the last generation of consoles, I often heard people proclaim that JRPGs were dead. That statement always gave me pause, because I was still enjoying a good number of Japanese RPGs. If I was still playing these games, they couldn't be dead, right? I could have just dismissed those people as wrong and moved on, but instead I decided to dig deeper to determine where this sentiment was coming from. What I found was that while the JRPG was still very much alive, for some people it had changed into something they were no longer familiar with.

From the days of the NES and SNES, Squaresoft was a heavy hitter in the JRPG arena. If you say the name Final Fantasy, Chrono Trigger, or Secret of Mana, most people know what you're referring to. If you were a Sega fan, you likely knew of Shining Force, Lunar, or Phantasy Star. These early days of console RPGs were very formative for many RPGamers. Those who came to love JRPGs during the PS1 or PS2 era were met with more Final Fantasy games, but also series like Persona, Suikoden, Kingdom Hearts, and Wild Arms. These games are just a few of those that highlight nearly two decades of fantastic JRPGs.
More information.

I've always thought that the first law of jRPGs is the specific graphics style.
Or, stretch it a bit, the first law of any j game.

Now I adore that style as it deliberately wants to be silly and cheesy.
However I, manga/anime fan, dislike if not hate almost all jRPGs. Because most of them are nothing but annoying grinders packed into japan style graphics.